The Great Parachute-a-thon

Last week, after we came back from the Great Fall Shopping event, the kids got together scraps of stuff (or, what I call ‘junk’) and decided to see who could engineer the best parachute for some of The Naturalist’s mini horses.

I’m used to my daughter coming up with experiments like this, but The Golfer had yet to feel comfortable designing something for himself.  He gets very easily frustrated trying to get something from his mind out onto paper, or into words. The Naturalist and Golfer actually make a good team…he gives a ‘big picture’ idea of what’s in his mind, and she implements it…adding her own touches.

But I was surprised to see him really stepping up to this challenge, and designing his own parachute every step of the way. He basically taped two pieces of contruction paper together (but “big paper, Mom, not little regular paper!”) and then taped the horse onto the bottom using some of my yarn*.

The Naturalist initially designed a very NASA looking parachute out of coffee filters and yarn*:

And then wanted to try out another creation using cardboard:

Then they went up to our landing and released them to see which one took longest to fall. That one was deemed the winner. Can you guess which one won?

The Golfer’s!!!

And then, the fun part was all the tinkering around they did afterwards..to make them better, lighter, ‘more aerodynamical’ as they put it. Watching the evolution of the parachutes and the critical thinking skills involved–the link is to the way this might have been taught in a classroom somewhere out there–has been great for me, and helps quell the feelings of  “They aren’t learning unless they fill out this worksheet right now!!!!”. They were having exciting, scientific discussions while in the midst of having a great afternoon of fun.

***my stash of knitting yarn has been commandeered by the kids to be used in ways other than knitting. And so, since I have 938475938475 things on my plate, I’ve given my carefully collected yarn stash over to the cause of unschooling.

4 Responses

  1. Oooooh! This is awesome! I thought for sure the coffee filters would float the best. What a fun experiment they came up with – the epitome of unschooling.

    Love it!

    Evie

  2. Evie, I had my money on the coffee filter one, too. But they timed it and everything, so The Golfer’s officially is the one to beat. We think it’s because of the oversized canopy.

    I think, since then, Naturalist has added a few more coffee filters and changed the rigging…she’s demanding a rematch!

  3. LOL I’ll be interested to see how that turns out!

    Hey, did you see in one of my responses to you on my blog that I downloaded karaoke George Michael Listen Without Prejudice? It’s for sale on itunes. You know you want it!! I got it and I torture my kids with it every day.

  4. How did I miss the karaoke George info?!?! I already torture my kids by singing over his voice…imagine the pain when I sing it without anything to mask my powerhouse vocals. ;)

    …off to get it…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

