Autumn Hike.

I know it’s not autumn, but something else to do on cold winter days is to look through your iphoto history. So many pictures I can hardly download them before I’m off and running again. I’d been meaning to blog about a wonderful hike we took last October, but then didn’t. Probably all the Halloween craziness made me forget. And hey, I forgot to blog about the Halloween craziness…that’s how crazy it was.

In any case, the kids and I attended a bird banding activity at Barr Lake–a manmade lake that serves the local farmers, but also has become quite a bird sanctuary. To get to where they were banding the birds, we had to hike around the lake for a bit. Actually, Sassy didn’t have to hike because she pulled the old, “My tummy is sick and I’m gonna throw up!” routine, and I always take that threat very seriously. So I carried her for most of the backbreaking way until she made a miraculous recovery and ran off.

IMG_7600

What I love about the hike around the lake is that there are markers along the walk that give little nuggets of wisdom. To wit:

Nature quote

which says, “Everything that slows us down and forces patience; everything that sets us back in the slow circles of nature, is a help.” May Sarton.

I just love this quote. It makes me think specifically of THIS little slowdown named Sassy:

IMG_7604

I’ve taken to repeating “She IS a help, she IS a help” over and over again. It’s my new mantra.

I also really liked this little quote:

Nature quote 2

“There is nothing like walking to get the feel of a country. A fine landscape is like a piece of music. It must be taken at the right temp.” Paul Scott Mowrer.

Isn’t that just like life, too? It must be taken at the right tempo. Too often I find myself rushing it along to quickly. In fact, that’s my new years resolution. Take life at the proper tempo. A nice walking pace. I’ll let my kids lead the way in this…they’re much better at it than I am.

IMG_7606

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers