Amen, Einstein.

I have a whole bunch of quotes set aside from Albert Einstein. I find that what he has to say about learning and education is fascinating, and totally sympatico with how I view those things. Sure, I may get some flack for unschooling from some well meaning people, but I’ve read enough about different great thinkers to feel pretty confident that what I’m doing with and for my kids is sanctioned by many people (past and present!) I admire. Einstein being one of them.

For instance, I love this quote:

The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.

or what about this one:

Most teachers waste their time by asking questions which are intended to discover what a pupil does not know, whereas the true art of questioning has for its purpose to discover what the pupil knows or is capable of knowing.

But one of my favorites is this:

Unschooling

The biggest gift of unschooling is allowing my kids to ‘labor in freedom’. Freedom to explore. Freedom to play. Freedom to make mistakes and try again. Freedom to go at their own pace. Freedom to learn how to learn.

Einstein, I couldn’t have said it any better!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers