Spring? Is it really you?

Yesterday I woke up and listened to the bird songs outside my window. It was light outside, and I knew it would stay light for another 12 hours–such a change from the dead of winter where I woke up to darkness and knew that in another 7 hours it would return to darkness. It wasn’t uncommon for me to have the kids fed and brushing their teeth for bed before Golfer would complain, “MOM! It’s not even 6 yet!!!”

I wasn’t the only one listening for Spring. Naturalist had opened the window in her and Golfer’s room, and I could hear them talking.

“Just listen to the sounds of the first day of Spring!” Golfer enthused.
Remember the first time we heard Danger?” Naturalist asked. In the year since they heard their first redtailed hawk, they have gone on to identify more birds and create a Shakespear worthy plotline and bird family tree. It reminded me that soon it will be time to set up the sleeping pallets outside our balcony for an improvised camping experience on warm & dry nights.
“Easter is in a few days.” Golfer continued.
“I don’t want to go to Church on Easter” Naturalist said.
“But it’s important to go to class and learn about it!” Golfer volleyed.
“It isn’t worth learning if I can’t have fun learning it!” Naturalist shot back.
Golfer stayed quiet. He really enjoys his church class! Naturalist is more transcendental in nature, and while sitting in her Church class I’m pretty sure her mind is out exploring the Rockies.

At breakfast, Sassy looked up from her cereal and announced “There are BIRDS in our backyard!” and sure enough, a family of robins were hopping around. They were healthy and beautiful!

It won’t be long now until we can start planting a garden, going to the park, taking hikes, riding bikes, golfing, and just getting OUT. I’m sure there will be a few more rogue snow storms, but the birds and sunshine are telling us that Spring is really here!

2 Responses

  1. And thank GOD! Yes, there’s one more storm out there, I feel it, but yes, spring has finally come to the Rockies. 🙂

  2. still not spring here!! ugh

Leave a Reply

