S.O.S. (Save Our Strawberries), Round 2.

I can’t believe it.  I really, really, can’t believe the chutzpah the birds have around here.  I thought that certainly the owl would have stopped them.  He’s so mean looking!  And intimidating!  True, he doesn’t move, and he’s made out of plastic.  But how smart can the little birds BE?!  They don’t have time to think these things through.  They just work on instinct, right?  RIGHT?! 

After putting the owl in the strawberry bed, I noticed two great looking, green berries.  See how the one in back is starting to redden up?

Look at how nicely they are ripening! 

First thing the next morning, I had planned on harvesting the one in the back to place on my morning healthy yogurt  Eggo waffle smothered in butter. 

Notice anything missing?  Anything like a red, ripe strawberry? 

The red, ripe strawberry that used to be DIRECTLY UNDER the owl?

The red, ripe strawberry that now sits half eaten BESIDE the owl.


Obviously, this is war, and I’m going to need to take it up a notch.

Round 2 winners: the birds.

One Response

  1. […] I ever got to eat the stinkin’ berries, with all the birds around here (Round 1, Round 2, Round 3, and then I gave […]

Leave a Reply

