Operation Happy Rabbits, phase 2

Hello Pepper…you sweet, chocolatey brown bundle of softness! At least, I think you’d be soft. It’s not like you let us hold you much.

And hello to you, LuLu. You’re a tough nut to crack, you know that? You have what we humans call an “attitude problem”. I’m sure you are sweet, too, but I can’t really tell with all the impatient thumping, hiding, and overall sulking you’ve been doing. Why do you put up such a barrier. Don’t you know we think you’re adorable?!

The Naturalist convinced me to bring you from the garage to our backyard. But I think her hidden agenda was revealed when she then brought you into our house so she could train you to ‘love her’. I’m sure it’s something she picked up on Animal Planet. If this works, I’ll start calling her ‘The Bunny Whisperer”.

I’m not sure you two bunnies appreciate what this girl is doing on your behalf. She typically doesn’t sit still for very long or focus very easily for long periods of time. Her mind is going to fast in too many directions. So, for her to sit, quietly, waiting for you to get used to her…well, that just doesn’t happen very often. I mean, look at her! She’s been in there so long, she’s actually gotten tired and is laying down in there.

And, listen. One last thing about the antibiotics I have to give you twice a day. It would be nice to have some cooperation. I mean, really. It’s not too much to ask. It’s not like I’ve ever medicated a bunny or anything. And you are both being very difficult. At the very least, I’d like you not to sniff the dropper and then immediately freak out before I can get a little in your mouth. I’ll tell you something…I’ve always had a fear of bunny bites. I don’t know where it came from, but it’s the biggest reason why I’ve never wanted to own a bunny. And you guys are getting dangerously close to biting me–if not for my lightning quick reflexes, you’d have gotten my finger good. Knock it off, or it’s back to the garage for ya. Or, into my soup pot, if you get my drift.

So, to recap…here’s what I need from you to make our partnership successful this summer, until you go back to your school home at Running River. 1) Start being more friendly to The Naturalist. 2) Start taking your medicine more easily. Good gracious, my kids are better at it than you are!

Thank you. That is all. Let’s hope we start seeing some warming up behavior from both of you very soon.

4 Responses

  1. Sounds like a great plan- just get them on board and you’re set right?

  2. The Naturalist is such a cool kid! You are such a wise mom for letting her explore all of her interests.

    Nice Fatal Attraction reference. That would scare the heck out of me if I were a bunny. 😉

  3. […] we permanently adopt the foster bunnies from hell that I wanted to make into rabbit […]

  4. […] we permanently adopt the foster bunnies from hell that I wanted to make into rabbit […]

Leave a Reply

