Mad Organizational Skillz, Yo!

Some mornings I wake up and think, “Hey!  It’s time to reorganize the pantry!  It’s been a few months  weeks!”  I know, I know, some people have a chart on their calendar, or a to-do list for these kinds of things.  But I work by inspiration.  I don’t like to feel strong armed into it, and what’s a bigger buzz kill than seeing “organize the cabinets” first thing in the morning?  Unless you’re like my hubby, who really enjoys being neat and tidy, and who early in our marriage helpfully wrote out reminders for me every morning.  I can see now he was only being enthusiastic and optimistic in his anal retentiveness…but it didn’t go over very well at the time.

 Anyways!

I woke up and decided it was time to clean the pantry AND the cabinets in my kitchen.  No small feat when you have a little helper around.   First, look at how little The Toddler The Sassy Princess was!  Second, check out those shelves!  So clean!  And organized!

But it doesn’t stop there.  Oh, no.  I went on to clean out every single cabinet.  I labelled with my labelmaker, and put things in uniformly sized plastic containers, and wiped everything down really well.

I know you’re thinking that hubby married himself a great woman.  Someone really on her game!  I mean, those are some nice, organized, & clean cabinets!

 Except!

Don’t look at the counters.

And certainly don’t look at the rest of the kitchen.

Do you ever get the feeling that with housework, it’s all about winning the battle but losing the war? 

7 Responses

  1. Hi there,

    Just popped over after reading your comment on my blog…thanks much.

    Love your post, particularly the pics…great visuals.

    And I absolutely agree on the housework front, especially with little ones around, it’s all about the daily battle!

  2. Like the previous commenter, I too came to check out your blog after you commented on mine and boy, did I have a good laugh when I read this post. Admittedly, I’m quite jealous of your kitchen, no matter what is sitting on the counters as mine is still wearing the remodel that the previous owners did in 1978, same counters, same stove. But I digress.

    So true one the difficulty of housework with children around. Today we have to clean house because I hate waking up on Saturday to a dirty house! It’s just so hard to keep it clean when one is so busy with the kids!

    Thanks for this post, I really enjoyed reading it!

  3. A-hahahaha, love your kitchen, it resembles mine!! Hey one step at a time, right? The cabinets look great.

  4. […] Although, she is her mother’s daughter, and I have set a precedent. […]

  5. Ha Ha . love this . I know it was posted two years back and you have changed a lot.
    But I can completely relate to you.
    My daughter also loves to help me in the kitchen and she is not at all like me. I am sure she is going to out smart me in a few years.I can really rely on her for so many things.
    Any way Bye . this reminds me of all the chores that awaits me. I should really hurry. Haha!

    • two years, lots of time has passed but I still have the same organizational shortcomings. lol. If you finish your chores quickly, you can fly over and help me with mine!

  6. […] Although, she is her mother’s daughter, and I have set a precedent. […]

Leave a Reply

