Yo! Gabba Gabba Hell

If you have kids of a preschool age, or older kids who still watch Nickelodeon, or happen to be flipping through the channels mid-morning and stopped on a show where you simultaneously said, “What the hell?” while being totally unable to turn away….then you know about Yo! Gabba Gabba.

I could handle Telletubbies. BooBah was pushing it a little bit, but I could still hang. But this Yo! Gabba Gabba show really freaks me out. Particularly the song, “There’s a Party in my Tummy (So Yummy! So Yummy!)”. I’ve only heard it once, and yet that was enough to sear it into my brain and force me to hum it when I’m preparing meals and snacks. Start the youtube video of it at your own risk. You’ll hate it for how it makes you feel like someone’s slipped PCP into your drink, but have to hear it over and over again. I’ve sat here watching it the past 15 minutes, unable to do anything else. It’s a horrible addiction.

The Sassy Princess, being a rather neurotic child, has never been the same since seeing this. All of a sudden, a new world of emotional foods has been opened up to her 3 year old mind. She looks at each fruit and veggie on her plate suspiciously, as if it will burst out into song. They don’t, but it doesn’t stop her from empathizing with the different food groups.

“Mamma! This grape doesn’t want to go to a party in my tummy! It’s too tired!”
“Mamma! My chicken just wants to be alone. It doesn’t want anyone else in my tummy”.
“Mamma! Is my yogurt happy in there? I dont’ think it’s very happy in there. Are you sure it’s happy in there?”
“Mamma! The cracker fell down in my tummy and it got hurt! It can’t party anymore! I think it’s sad!”

It’s taken a somewhat treacherous mealtime and made it even more of an ordeal. Now, not only do I have to reassure The Sassy Princess that the blueberry won’t eat her brain (she heard the Naturalist and I call it ‘brain food’ one day) and cater to her whimsical 3 year old eating habits….now I have to give a complete psychoanalysis of each piece of food on her plate before she’ll eat it.

“Honey, the Grape doesn’t have to party in your tummy! It can go right into the small intestines and take a nap, OK?”
“Honey, the Chicken can have alone time in your tummy away from the party, OK?”
“Honey, the Yogurt was born to be down there in your tummy! It is so fulfilled and could NOT be happier, OK?”
“HONEY! THE CRACKER GOT ALL BROKEN UP WHEN YOU CHEWED IT INTO A MILLION PIECES!!! PLEASE JUST EAT!!!!”

In summary, and to paraphrase Charles Heston in Planet of the Apes:
“You [Gabba Gabba] maniacs! Damn you! Damn you all to HELL!”
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
And now, I’m off to watch it again for another 15 minutes before bed. Addiction is a terrible thing.

7 Responses

  1. For the sake of my own sanity I’ll skip the video and just get down on my knees and Thank God that the worst I had was the Teletubbies and Blues Clues.

    Great post.

  2. Since I’m on dial-up at the moment, I can quite easily refuse this dark temptation.
    Sounds like an exhausting conversation that I”d have with my son.
    Hopefully we’ll miss this one.
    A thrilling story, to be sure… death, drama, trauma, giggles, suspense…. those yabbas? gabbas! inspire it all!

  3. Wow! So sorry you’re going through this! I actually saw a small clip of this show on Talk Soup. They have a segment called, “What the kids are watching” and chose to include this show for it’s creepiness. So you love it and hate it at the same time???

  4. I succumbed to the temptation and for the rest of the day (hopefull that’s all) I will pay for it.

    I can’t believe the ideas that get funding.

    Why do people think we have to “feed” children highly repetitive nonsense just to get them to eat their veggies?

    Jim Henson must be rolling over in his grave.

  5. Hahahaha, PCP!! I won’t watch it for my own sake. I can barely accept 95% of what’s out there but it this is worse than BooBah, No Thank You!

  6. […] a feeling I have much more humiliation in store for me in Sassy’s 6th year here. She still does not like for food to have parties in her tummy. Her hair still tangles like nothing I’ve ever seen. She’s happy with the bob […]

  7. […] She still does not like for food to have parties in her tummy. […]

Leave a Reply

