Random Thoughts

____________

Why, when I needed it least, did I put so much makeup on ? And now, when I need it most, I usually only end up hastily applying Bert’s Bee’s lipbalm and then jetting out the door. What 15 year old needs undereye concealer, foundation, and powder?! And yet there I was, 45 minutes every morning, making like I was J. Lo’s makeup artist. I mean, I was in high school in the late 80’s, when it was accepted to use bright blues, greens, yellows and pinks all over your face. I’d use bright teal on my lower eyelids, and a nice purple on my upper eyelids with a lovely accent of yellow right under my eyebrow. It really offset my brown eyes, don’t ya know. Now, I need all that stuff–well, maybe minus the neon eyeshadow. I mean, 11 years of interrupted sleep will produce some pretty big and dark undereye circles, yes? And yet, I keep forgetting to pick up a tube of mascara and concealer at the store and rarely have time to put it on even if I remembered.

And yes, I did dress up like Jem for Halloween one year.

________

Biggest ‘Don’t Do Drugs’ Posterboy….George Michael. Seriously. “Listen Without Prejudice, Vol. 1” is one of the best albums EVER. Yes, it has ‘Freedom’ on it, which is classic GM pop, but I love the album because of it’s more than that–it’s a bit in the groove of Sting’s “Dream of the Blue Turtles” and there are some songs that I absolutely adore. “Heal the Pain” is one that my college roomate and I would sit and sing to on late, dateless Saturday nights. “They Won’t Go When I Go”…another good, soulful song to belt out and pretend you’re a gospel singer. But George!! Where did Vol. 2 go? Where is it? Some people say that it’s because you were fighting with Sony. But all your arrests and drug charges make me wonder. Statements like this make me wonder:

“We could sit here with any number of policemen and doctors and they would all tell you if everybody who had a dependence on alcohol changed their mind and had a dependence on weed, the world would be a much easier place to live in.”

Easier to live in, maybe. But much less interesting, George, because everyone would be slumped in their chair, thinking big, brilliant thoughts while forgetting to get up and do anything about them. So George…PUT DOWN THE POT, remember how talented you are, and make Vol 2.

_______________

Speaking of songs, is there a sexier one out there than Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m On Fire”? I usually get a little icked out by songs that use ‘daddy’, ‘baby’ and ‘little girl’ when talking about lovers. Seriously icked. But this is the one exception.

Hey little girl is your daddy home
Did he go away and leave you all alone
I got a bad desire
Im on fire

Tell me now baby is he good to you
Can he do to you the things that I do
I can take you higher
Im on fire

Sometimes its like someone took a knife baby
Edgy and dull and cut a six-inch valley
Through the middle of my soul

At night I wake up with the sheets soaking wet
And a freight train running through the
Middle of my head
Only you can cool my desire
Im on fire

Chris Isaac wishes he could be as brooding and disturbed as that. I usually put it on a loop because, at 2:34, it’s just too short of a song. Bruce, I knew that you and the chick from the TV show ‘Sisters’ would never last. What were you thinking? Well, no, strike that…I know what you were thinking because of all the lyrics on ‘Tunnel of Love’. Another thing, Bruce. Why are you so haunting, while your ‘E Street Band’ is so goofy? Please, just sing with a guitar and forget the band.

________________________

I just found out Tara Reid graduated from my high school. That explains so much.

________________________

3 Responses

  1. Bahahahaha Jem.

  2. WOW! I absolutely adore that album by George Michael and now I’m going to have to torture my kids and listen to it and sing along with it today.

    Where can I forward the bill for their medical expenses? LOL

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane…..Jem, is truly outrageous. I think that was my sister’s favorite show!

    Evie

Leave a Reply

