The NEA won’t be happy about this…

I was browsing through some of my favorite blogs, and one caught my eye over at “These Go To Eleven“…she quotes an article in The Boston Globe. It’s about homeschoolers, and *shock* it talks about how normal and cool we are.

I hope no one reads The Boston Globe, because then they might start questioning the NEA Resolution that claims:

The National Education Association believes that home schooling programs based on parental choice cannot provide the student with a comprehensive education experience. (because sitting in a classroom 10 months out of the year leads to such a comprehensive experience) Home schooling should be limited to the children of the immediate family, with all expenses being borne by the parents/guardians. Instruction should be by persons who are licensed by the appropriate state education licensure agency, and a curriculum approved by the state department of education should be used. (because we all know that only state department teachers know anything about everything. Certainly the programs we go to at the Zoo, Science Museum, Pottery Studio, and other Co-ops pale in comparison to the non specific experts in the classroom teaching a wide assortment of things they have no personal knowlege about, other than what they read in a book on teaching.)  

(snarky comments in parentheses mine…not the NEA’s)

According to the article, homeschoolers aren’t sitting in a cave making little Joe* do multiplication tables 10 hours a day. We aren’t even sitting around with little Susie* making her learn bible verses all day long. We’re actually getting out and doing stuff. You know, fun stuff. Stuff that actually teaches our kids other stuff. Important, learning stuff! Imagine that!

*I made up these names. Little Joe might actually be doing multiplication tables all day, but I don’t know this personally.

I’ll quote this next dude because I had no idea the US Department of Education has an Office of Non-Public Education. Are they keeping tally marks? If so, the people in the Non-Public Education department are totally kicking the D of E butt right now–people are leaving the public education system faster every year.

As the number of home-school students has risen, so too have the networking and group opportunities, which has helped pull the practice closer to the mainstream, according to Jack Klenk, director of the Office of Non-Public Education at the US Department of Education.
“It is so much more common than it was 10 years ago or 20 years ago or even three years ago for people to know some one who is home-schooling,” said Klenk, whose daughter home-schools one of her children. (hehe)  

(italics and giggle are mine)

But my favorite quote is from this mom:

“When we’re out, people will talk to him and he’ll say something about being home-schooled, and they always turn to me and say, ‘What about socialization?’ ” according to Wayne-Shapiro. “And I nod and say, ‘Yeah. I think that’s one of the greatest advantages.’ ”  

Classic. I have to remember that the next time socialization comes up.

4 Responses

  1. I love that socialization quote too!

    You have commented on my blog several times, but I don’t think I have ever seen YOUR blog. Not sure why. Sometimes I get real busy and mean to click through on stuff. Sometimes I think I did, but then find out that I didn’t.

    We have a 10 year old dyslexic, gifted, right-brained thinker in our family too. What a joy! Add that to a couple of non-dyslexic, gifted, right-brained thinkers and we have a nuthouse on our hands. Homeschoolers are definitely weird. Oh but the fun we have! Wait, I didn’t say that out loud did I? I mean, oh the drudgery and pain of educating them at home. It is so draining and difficult. NOT!

    Smile. Thanks for the link (which ultimately gets credited to COD).

  2. thanks so much for this post. It was incredibly fascinating!

    I, too, am going to attempt to remember the socialization quip- it was a zinger!

  3. Grr…I hate the NEA. But I love your “snarkiness”. Did you know the NEA endorses Huckabee for ’08 Pres, the same man the HSLDA endorses. Doesn’t make much sense does it?

    Did I mention I truly loathe and despise the NEA? Have you read their article on homeschoolers: http://www.nea.org/espcolumns/dv040220.html

    Ugh, I can’t stand them!

  4. NJC…nuthouse, yep! I haven’t been blogging long, and yours is the one of the first I found while searching ‘right brained thinkers’. You also directed me to the creative homeschooling yahoo group…so thanks for that!

    Evie…those zingers are nice to have around, eh?

    Tara…that article is truly absurd. I was thinking, ‘who wrote this crap!’ and then noticed at the end…

    –Dave Arnold, a member of the Illinois Education Association, is head custodian at Brownstown Elementary School–

    Okaaaaay then.

Leave a Reply

