Embroidering Project

For Christmas ’07, I was inspired by Soule Mama and her beautiful handicraft work. Once, when I was 10, I did a few cross stitch patterns, but quickly became bored with all those X’s that had to be put on just the right square. I felt it was tedious and restrictive. But Soule Mama’s stitchwork made me rethink my aversion to needle and thread, so I gave it another thought.

My plan was to find a picture that I loved from each of the kids, transfer it onto some canvas, embroider it, and then hang it on the wall. I bought all the proper materials and set to work.

I then discovered that embroidery thread was different from my sewing thread. Back to the store for second time to get proper thread.

I quickly discovered that apparently, embroidery needles are different from my regular sewing needles. Bigger eye to hold the bigger thread. Back to the store for third time to get proper needles.

Finally, with all the really proper materials, I was in business.

Clueless, I just started stitching. I’ve since found out there are, like, official stitches and stuff. Lots of them! And, that instead of using the thread as is, I can split the thread and only use 3-5 at a time. And, you shouldn’t put a knot at the end of the thread.

And most of all, I found out that I really had no business embroidering anything. But, there is a great quote by somebody that says something like, “I do what I don’t know, in order to learn how to do it.” So, off I went. I only ended up doing one, because it took me a while to figure it out (and I still didn’t really figure anything out…just tried to make it look pretty…).

Here is the end result…one of the Golfer’s pictures from 2 years ago. All his pictures are a variation on a golf theme. The first one he drew at 3 was of golf balls rolling into a hole. As his drawing skills increased, he began adding people. Happy people. Happy people golfing. I love them all!

embroidery

I think, if I can figure this out, I’ll try another one!

6 Responses

  1. Very cute!

  2. Embroidery is what you did.
    On cross-stitch canvas, by the way. : ) heehee!
    There is only one cross-stitch, that I know of – it’s the x’s.
    But it is a very fine picture and replica. You should be pleased as punch.
    (Er – And often times only two threads are used. – That’s it from me, I promise!)

    It’s beautiful. Honestly!
    Steph

  3. I think it looks great!
    I am a “dive right in” girl too. My mother in-law got me my first sewing machine for Christmas and I am determined to plough ahead, no lessons… just trial and error. I think I learn best this way…. and I know my son ,Owen does. I guess that makes both of us whole to part learners. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh my god, that’s the cutest thing!!! What a fantastic idea. You’re so creative to come up with that. You know how I love to copy you… πŸ™‚

  5. Tracey…thanks!

    Steph…even more ways that I don’t know what I’m doing. ; )

    Tara… we love the whole to part learning over here.

    Evie…you should try it, get really good, and then put up a tutorial that I can follow.

  6. I’m glad you didn’t take me off your friends list.
    I was worried that you would!
    lol
    Truly.
    I so love to tease, and I’m never sure if someone will take me seriously.
    xxoo

Leave a Reply

