American Idol

Listening to an hour of people trying to sing: painful.
Listening to Simon reply: funny.
Spending an hour snuggled under a blanket laughing and talking with a usually too busy preteen: priceless.

We seriously LOVE this show. Hubby, Golfer, Naturalist and I squeeze together and watch religiously every week. And yes, we vote. It’s important to exercise our rights, you know? Good lesson in democracy for the kids.

The brutal honesty of Randy and Simon has, in turn, given us all thicker skins. “Do you want to know what I’d say if I were Simon?” we ask. Like when I took Golfer shopping with me to The Gap outlet and found a long, blue cardigan that I loved. “What do you think about this one?” I inquired in the changing room. “Well, if I were Simon, I’d say, ‘That looks great…if you don’t care what you look like.'” Point taken, little man, point taken.

Like most people who go through the show with Simon (who is always spot on, we think), I discounted the sage advice and continued on my merry way…telling him he was crazy if he didn’t think I looked good. I bought the cardigan. I wore the cardigan. I love the cardigan. I walked by a mirror wearing the cardigan. I realized the cardigan makes me look like an old, lumpy pillow. Golfer was right. But so was I…sometimes you just have to do some things because they make you happy, not to please other people.

On that note, I present Keith, our favorite Idol wannabee. I hope he’s still singing and dancing, because he certainly kept us entertained. We saved him on our TiVo for at least a year, and watched this anytime we needed a little pick me up.

2 Responses

  1. Okay, I’ll be honest…the first time through I actually had to stop the player.

    Boy, you weren’t kidding when you said painful…I think I need some band-aids. Now I know why I don’t watch these shows (we have Canadian Idol up here).

    I did fast forward through to Simon’s comments and couldn’t help but laugh…

    “No really, are YOU serious?”

    Hehehehe.

    Sure does make one more confident about singing in the shower though eh?

  2. While I am not a fan of American Idol – and have always wondered why SImon would get to vote on who should be an idol in the US, if I happen to flip the channel to it while the try-outs are going on – I’ll certainly sit a spell.
    It’s the most amusing thing. It’s astounding, and hilarious and I love it.

    This one was a gem – and thanks so much for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

