On Thin Ice!

This past President’s Day, we headed off into Rocky Mountain Nat’l Park, in honor of Teddy Roosevelt and his conservation of vast amounts of our country by setting up the National Park system. He’s our kind of president!

The weather cooperated a little…it wasn’t snowing, sleeting, raining, or colder than 40 degrees, which made it feel like beach weather after the meteorological beating we’ve been getting. We explored a park we hadn’t seen before, and while the playground was fun, all the action was down by the river.

In the center, the water was running fast, but on the sides there was an ice shelf that had built up in an interesting pattern.

ice pattern

What was so fun, though, was that clear ice about 4 inches thick covered a big part of the river. When looking through it reminded me of a glass bottom boat tour I took once on Catalina Island. We could see the river beneath, with all the debris flowing around, and the kids thought that was pretty cool. All kinds of rock throwing, ice poking, and stick fetching ensued.

Then we found an old fashioned ice skating rink…river water frozen on part of a field and roped off.

tree silhouette on ice

We didn’t have skates, but our shoes did a good job filling in! Speaking of shoes…check out mine:

I love these shoes. They have traveled around the world with me. They’ve taken me hiking into the Alps, through the maze of canals in Venice, over the Charles Bridge in Prague, around Stephansdom in Austria, into Neuschwanstein castle in Bavaria, and all around town (miles and miles and miles around town!) in Budapest. When I look at them, I remember everywhere we’ve walked together and it makes me happy. Thanks, REI shoes!

After our outing, we found a little German food restaurant where we ordered schnitzle, streudel, and sauerkraut, all the while reminiscing about our adventures in the Alps. Naturalist can still remember a little bit, but Golfer–who was 1 at the time–feels a little cheated that he did all those things but can’t remember any of it. We promised we’d go back…whether now or 10 years from now, who can say?!

All in all, it was a good way to spend the day.

On a side note, I think February is trying to kill me. Yesterday it was actually in the 50’s and I heard birds chirping at 6:45 am, which hasn’t happened since the first snowfall all those months ago. Last night it snowed, and now it’s frigid again. This morning I commiserated by cooking the most wicked coffee cake ever invented…2 cups of sour cream, 2 cubes of butter, brown sugar, 3 cups of flour (refined white, thankyouverymuch) to which I will add my own pat of butter when it comes out of the oven…topped off with a cup of whole milk. If I get out of February without gaining 50 pounds and a heart attack, I’ll be surprised.

2 Responses

  1. February is going to be the death of me. I think you’ve had more snow and ick up there than we have near Denver. But Feb. is trying to kill me, I’m sure of it. Thankfully there’s only a few more days of it, then I’m lifting a glass on Saturday to spring, glorious spring. 🙂

  2. Great pics of the ice! Love the pattern!
    And I completely agree about February. Very annoying.

Leave a Reply

