Budding Herbologist. Herbatologist. Whatever.

I haven’t talked a lot about my garden this season because frankly, it’s a big fat failure. I don’t know if it was the hail, the surprising freezing temperatures at night, the freak snowstorms in May, the fact that it is possibly holding a grudge from last year, or all of those things combined…but the end result is a sad excuse for a garden.

Naturalist is happy to point out that HER section of the garden is growing just fine. Her beans, rosemary, lavender, basil, chamomile, and potted chocolate mint plants are thriving. When she picked out what to put in her section, she leaned towards herbs mostly because of their various scents. Did you know that roman chamomile smells just like bubble gum?! Also, she was deep in the midst of reading the Warrior book series in which medicine cats feature prominently.

After getting back from Wolf camp, she’s developed this strong interest in what different herbs can do medicinally. One of the camp leaders is a hard core hiker, the likes of which are rarely seen outside of Boulder. The likes of which I think Naturalist will be one day. “Mom, he said that all plants can talk, and we’re the ones that have to listen close enough to hear what they say. And I heard one talk up there at camp. It was a pine tree, and it talked to me” she told me when she got back. I don’t doubt it! I didn’t want to pry, but maybe one day she’ll tell me what it said to her. This camp leader also taught the campers about what different plants and herbs would do if they were ever caught outdoors without food or help.

As we watered our plants she muttered, “Man, I wish I had some Yarrow in there.” Then she retreated to our computer to google ‘mint’, ‘rosemary’, ‘lavender’, and ‘herbs’. When next I saw her, she had applied a poultice to a cut on her leg of mint and chamomile leaves ground together and kept in place by a wetted rose petal.

5 Responses

  1. Awesome! πŸ™‚ I love herbs too. So nice for just about anything.

  2. Good for Naturalist!! Herbs are amazing things, I wouldn’t want to live without ’em!

  3. Wow, that is really awesome. You think she can come out here and help me out? LOL

  4. Very awesome. πŸ™‚ Herb gardens rock.

  5. -We are conducting a hopefully not so lengthy study on which plants can cause impotence not infertility in men. Do you know or know someone we may contact. So far our searches came up empty. I hope this doesn’t cause any disturbances on your list.
    ********************************_______-Selv.

Leave a Reply

