Home again.

It’s nice to be back from Ohio! It was the craziest fair Ashley and I have ever done…in three days we had torrential rain, oppressive heat, and then a wind that knocked trees and power lines down all around us. As you might imagine, that’s not the best weather for selling anything outside…but Ash and I manage to find our way out of even the worst situations–it’s what makes us great friends and awesome business partners. 🙂

I missed being home and delighting in the little ‘kid-isms’ all day long. Like, when Sassy was begging to get some ice cream and I told her to ‘be patient’. Hubby asked her, “What does it mean to ‘be patient’, Sassy?” and she replied, “It means, ‘be quiet’.”

Naturalist missed me, and told me she would ‘never think being a mom is easy again.’ *snort* One night she told me she was trying to find some oil to make brownies and had everyone at their assigned cleaning stations…but then things went awry and everyone started asking her questions and for help. Not knowing which person to help first, she had her hands full and told me, “When you’re a mom, you do stuff for you AND for EVERYONE ELSE too!” She also noted that she had to share more of her stuff, leading her to believe that kids just take and take and take and moms just give and give and give. She promised she would stop asking me for stuff. I patted her on the head and told her to ask away–she was still a kid and if I minded it, I would start hordeing my stuff more.

Top two things they missed about me? 1) my help in cleaning up. 2) snuggling with me.

Top thing that helped them not miss me so much? Sleeping in hubby and my bed, which meant that they crowded into the bed all week together while hubby slept on a mattress on the ground. Awwww!

So now I’m back from the world of room service and maids, and I’m pretty happy about it. Tonight’s menu is lots of snuggling and brownies in no particular order.

5 Responses

  1. Funny, just a few minutes ago I was thinking I hadn’t read your blog in a bit and you just posted! I MUST be psychic!

    And speaking of Ohio… I’m thinking you should be going to the Unschoolers Winter Waterpark Gathering right? 😉

  2. Welcome home! 🙂

  3. Welcome back.

    It’s nice to be missed eh?

    BTW – Love the sign…Rain or Shine our Soap is Fine.

    Awesome.

  4. hey lady!
    have you tried selling on etsy? Your stuff is fabulous…

  5. Hey, I know of a fun place to visit that won’t have oppressive heat or torrential rains. Come visit us in San Diego next year for my Good Vibrations Unschooling Conference. You can have a table there! Win/Win=Yay!!

    Glad you’re home safely, loved and appreciated as you deserve.

Leave a Reply

