The Pox Chronicles.

So, the theme for this week is Chicken Pox. I’m going to write about chicken pox, dream about chicken pox, eat, breathe and sleep chicken pox…chicken pox, chicken pox, chicken pox.

Let’s ask Sassy how she feels about this subject.

Oh, the agony.

Or, let’s wait until she’s feeling a little more up to it.

It strikes me, between one generation and the next, how completely chicken pox has been striken from our communal memory. My mom had to deal with chicken pox with all 5 of her kids, while I (having the benefit of the vaccine ((or so I thought))) am completely clueless about what used to be a big deal. I didn’t even know what it looked like or it’s symptoms for heaven sakes. Golfer walked around being contagious and infected (Sorry Utah and Idaho) and I had no clue!

It also strikes me how much vaccinations have changed the landscape of womens roles. Today, I can choose between being a SAHM, WAHM, and/or career woman. Back before vaccines, I don’t think it would have been possible to be in any job outside the home full time. I would have spent 3 weeks so far staying home with this latest chicken pox epidemic at my house. That doesn’t even consider the normal cold/flu season, which in turn doesn’t touch the other communicable diseases pre-vaccine that take weeks to mend from. If I’m a mom, say, 35 years ago, I could conceivably spend 3-4 months simply attending to my children while they’re sick from any handful of things.

What do you thing about that, Sassy?

Sometimes she's to tired to stand.

OK, I see you have other things on your mind. I’ll get back to you later.

My days since Friday have been spent being at Sassy’s beck and call. She rarely leaves my side, and has become surprisingly snuggly. We hang out on the couch, under a blanket, watching TV or playing video games. She drinks through a straw or out of a water bottle because she has a nasty pox on her lip that hurst when anything touches it, including a cup. She has little appetite. She does this cute thing whenever she passes by an object, be it a chair, countertop, table, other person…whatever. She sidles up next to it and starts rubbing her pocked little body against it to satisfy the itching need. It’s actually quite pathetic. Her sass has turned into sad little tears. That’s also quite pathetic.

Any last words about your experience so far, Sassy?

the pox slowly appear on her face.

I guess not. We’ll just let this last picture tell the story for you.

The poster child for chicken pox angst.

Oh, the humanity!

9 Responses

  1. Poor Sassy! Those shots of her… ugh. Poor pitiful thing. I hope she’s feeling better soon. You’ve had them, right? You’re not going down next, are you?!

  2. Chicken Pox are a right of passage! Your children will be better people for it. 🙂

  3. Ohh she looks so sad and pathetic. My heart goes out to her.

    The only way a woman could have worked years ago would have been is she didn’t have kids or had a nanny or lived close to family that was willing to help.

    Some days as a working mom (without a nanny or family close by) it is still really difficult. I envy you – what a good choice you made! 🙂

  4. poor little sass! My heart hurts seeing her little face all pox’d up!

  5. That is about the least sassy Sassy I’ve ever seen. Poor kiddo. 😦

  6. Awww, makes a Mommy just want to hug her. She looks so unhappy…so unSassy.

    Don’t worry though, as long as the fever is down and no new spots appear, the worst is over and she’ll soon be back to her ol’ Sassy self.

    A question about the vaccination…I’m Canadian so you’ll have to forgive me if it’s a stupid question…

    Did you have to pay for them or were they covered by insurance?

    It’s just that I’ve never even heard of a vaccination for Chicken Pox (but my kids are older) and though we do have other kinds of volunteer vaccinations that I am aware of, as far as I know, they’re covered by our Provincial Health Insurance.

    I’m just curious.

  7. Poor thing!

    I can still remember how extra sweet my dad was the entire time I had chicken pox as a child. We were on vacation so he was there the whole time, and he played endless card games with me, took me to a deserted beach to swim, applied gallons of campho-whatever-it’s-called – I can still remember all that goodness 30 years later, and can’t remember at all how bad I felt from the pox.

    So Sassy may be miserable now, but later on she’ll remember the straws mom found for her, the movies and games – and in the end it will be a good memory of the 2 of you together. That’s not so bad.

  8. Oh, poor thing. They suck, I know!!

  9. She looks so very sad. She’ll bounce back and be sassin’ again before you know it!

Leave a Reply

