36 is the new 82.

Not even chicken pox could keep my birthday from coming round this year. I’d hoped maybe it would, but Sassy took a turn for the better (no fever today!) just in time for the 36th anniversary of my day of birth to find me.

Truthfully, I’ve noticed that while my mind still screams “I’m 24!”, my body disagrees. For instance, I pulled my neck out twice this month…once when I was blowing dry my hair, and once when I changed sleeping positions in the middle of the night. Halfway over I awoke to searing pain running down my spine and realized I couldn’t finish the roll without supporting my neck. That certainly never happened in my 20’s.

I also notice that all the things I stressed out about while in my 20’s (wrinkles, crows feet, cellulite, droopy ass, saggy boobs, etc.), and took preventative measures against (wrinkle cream…ha! In my 20’s I was addicted to it!), are actually happening but I’m too busy to care. Yes, my brow furrows are permanent. I have a Sassy to deal with! Crows feet? Yes, but I call them laugh lines. Dark undereye circles? Yes please! And may I have a couple on each side just to prove how many sleepless nights I’ve spend with sick kids? Why yes, yes I can! And when Sassy started poking on my boobs one day last week because she was “helping them wake up”? Well, we won’t talk about that, will we?

I know these things are happening, but I spend less time in front of a mirror than I did at 20, so I’m not processing them in real time…mostly only when I see a picture of myself and go…’who’s the old broad?’

Although I have taken up regular exercise and kept my hair mostly groomed, as well as found appropriate cosmetics to cover over any things I wish weren’t there. I know my life is way more kick ass than it was at 24, so that’s good. Overall, I think I’m holding up pretty well!

What do you think?
star-wars-palpatine_l

Not bad for 36, eh?!

15 Responses

  1. LOL!!! Love the picture!
    I’m way ahead of you at 42, but my brain still thinks I’m 24, too. ( My body vehemently disagrees).
    I agree, though that life is much better than it was in my 20’s. I still wish I had my 20 yr old body, though.

  2. I can relate to all of this. I turn the big 3-7 at the end of this month.

    And so sorry about the chickenpox! Your poor kids.

    But here’s hoping you have a very happy birthday in spite of everything.

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope you did something more fun than just examine your wrinkles. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Happy Birthday! You look great. Nothing like that picture.

  5. Bahahaha, love the pic.

    I turn 37 next week so I hear you loud and clear.

    I try really hard to look at my grey hairs and wrinkles as badges of honour. It doesn’t always work, as my contribution to the hair colour and beauty cream industries will attest.

    And I agree in that I too think my life is a lot better now than it was 12 years ago, sagging butt and boobs aside.

    Happy Birthday!

  6. love the picture

    Happy Birthday!

  7. Happy Birthday!

    At least your sense of humor is still intact. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Happy Birthday!!!!! you look great!!!! (that picture notwithstanding ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

  9. lol – happy belated b’day! I’m 38 so can relate ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Hahaha love the picture.

    so you , A Scorpio ? Then we are in the same room.

  11. Happy Birthday !

  12. Sorry I took this post . You still look like you are in your twenties ! ;-D

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY !

  13. […] started trickling in, confirming the fact that my birthday is here! Last year I wrote about how my aging process is going, this year it’s like time has gone in reverse and I’m another year younger. I’ve […]

  14. […] started trickling in, confirming the fact that my birthday is here! Last year I wrote about how my aging process is going, this year it’s like time has gone in reverse and I’m another year younger. I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

