Tie One On!

I’m so disoriented after spending a week in full on vacation mode…not knowing what day it was, time it was, week it was, only focused on what Disney park we were going to next…so getting back into the swing of things is doubly hard. I left the house a wreck, Thanksgiving stuff still hasn’t been done, I have piles of laundry and a grocery list a mile long. I don’t have a superhero cape, but could use one for the rest of the week! Thank goodness I have the next best thing–some lovely aprons to put on and transform me into an uberhousewife circa ’43.

How timely that The Farm Chicks posted about ‘Tie One On’ day.

apron

The aim of this day goes perfectly with what I feel when I tie on one of my vintage (or Anthropologie born…I can’t help it!) aprons: connected to a vast army of women that I never knew or only know through stories told by family.

we recognizes this day annually on Thanksgiving eve in celebration of the humble apron and the spirit of women of earlier generations who have worn it.

On the day before Thanksgiving, EllynAnne encourages us to pause in the preparation of our own bounty, wrap a loaf of bread in an apron, tuck a prayer or noteof encouragement in the pocket, and tie one on…an apron, of course!, and deliver the wrapped bundle to someone in need of spiritual or physical sustenance.

According to EllynAnne, no matter which way you turn out of your own front door, someone who is deserving of a hug is very close by. “Women clad in aprons have traditionally prepared the Thanksgiving meal,” says EllynAnne, “and it is within our historical linkage to share our bounty.”

I have quite a stash of treasured aprons, and the trick will be to choose which one to give away. I think I’ll give it to my younger sister, who is just embarking on a journey of nurturing her own significant other and stepson in addition to graduating from a Nursing program. Her days and nights are fuller than ever, and she’s realizing it’s hard work to nurture a family. 🙂

I love aprons. I love tying them around my kids waists when we cook together, and the instant expectation that we will be spent doing something together for the next little while. I’m in love with a day dedicated to remembering all the women who have tied one on, and paying that service forward.

May the apron give me strength to get through this Thanksgiving so soon after a big trip!

Aprons

3 Responses

  1. What a great post! I have a bunch of aprons from my grandmother and I think this idea is terrific and can’t think of a better way to honor her.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love aprons – though tis the truth that I don’t own any!! 🙂
    I’ve been meaning to make a Mama’s apron for a few years our of scraps of my favorite baby clothes.
    This year I’m making Madd one for her tea parties, and I’ve made her an art one – for painting in- and now Trev has requested one to cook in! 🙂
    woohoo!

  3. We are going to Disney next week. Would love any tips you have from your recent trip. Email me!

Leave a Reply

