Apres Thanksgiving Fun!

So, I woke up today–the day after the eat-a-thon known in our house as Thanksgiving, and promptly ate a huge bowl of pumpkin cobbler (with cool-whip on top!) for breakfast. Followed shortly after with some mashed potatoes and chocolate silk pie. I have no shame.

Then I figured it would be good if I burned off some calories by hauling our christmas tree, ornaments and decorations up from the basement. At that point, everyone got into the spirit, so we turned on some christmas music and went to work!

After thanksgiving fun

Not that by ‘work’ I mean any of us got out of our jammies, especially when they’re as comfy as my santa ones from Old Navy circa 2006. Naturalist almost got eaten by our big, heavy, plastic tree…she helped me set up my favorite nativity set, and Sassy went back and forth from the basement to the tree unloading decorations she hauled up in an easter basket.

After thanksgiving fun 2

While in the basement, Sassy found my stash of 3450834058 year old candy canes that I reuse year after year to hang on our tree. She also helped us hang the shiny new ornaments from Costco that have been haunting me since they put them out on the shelves in freaking September. “If they’re still around after Thanksgiving, they’re mine!” I kept saying the last 2 months. And, sure enough, Hubby and I ran out on a ‘date’ to get them. They are very shiny.

As if that wasn’t great enough, TNT was playing ‘Fellowship of the Rings’ on TV and while snuggling around watching it, snow started falling outside. We’re up to about 2 1/2 inches with no signs of stopping–we ran outside without pants, shoes or socks (well, some of us did) and then Naturalist and Hubby toook a walk.

The kids are now in bed, dreaming of sugarplums (or, sour patch candy) and Christmas, although Golfer seems more fixated on the fact that the anniversary of Pearl Harbor is next week and could we please bake a battleship cake to commemorate it. ??? I’ll let you know how that works out.

I hope everyone had a happy Thanksgiving!

6 Responses

  1. I bet a battleship cake isn’t that complicated… But maybe he wants to help.

  2. That sounds like a lovely day! Those ornaments are nice colors… 🙂

  3. Oh oh oh! You have to watch the Pearl Harbor episode of Malcolm in the Middle! You just have too! Hal decides he hates being outdone by the neighbor across the street when it comes to Christmas decorations…. It’s hilarious!!!

  4. I love those full holiday days! Eatin and TV watchin.
    I’m suprised your candy canes weren’t liquified!!!

  5. I had to look twice at that photo – Naturalist or Sassy?! OH my goodness has sassy grown – Naturalist has a mini-me!

  6. Sounds like a fantastic day!! Cheers for many more. (Good luck with that cake…)

Leave a Reply

