The Internets gave me the flu.

3 days ago, I read this post from my lovely and far away (in Italy!) friend. I was looking for updates about her whirlwind trip to Paris (or, as whirlwind as it can be with 2 crazy kids in tow) and instead found a post all about the ill effects of the Parisian strain of influenza.

2 days ago, I thought about doubling down and finding some flu shots for me and the family, since my pediatricians office only had them for the dates we were galivanting around Disneyworld and I hadn’t looked elsewhere to get us vaccinated. Then I passed by Chick Fil-A and got me a seasonal peppermint chocolate shake and forgot all about anything but sucking that down.

1 day ago I went to bed with a sore throat and crazy gross mucous sticking in my sinuses.

Today, I woke up wondering what would happen if I put chicken soup in my Neti pot and used it to clear my upper respiratory track out.

This afternoon I came back from assorted errands, fell on the couch, and immediately fell asleep. An hour later I woke up with chills, aches, a massive headache, and more nasty crazy gross mucous stuck in my head. I had enough strength to raise my head…and then drop it down again.

Sounds like the parisian strain, doesn’t it? That I got from reading Jenn’s blog? She should consider quarantining it for a while.

Tomorrow, if I have the strength to get downstairs, I’m trying the chicken soup in the neti pot idea, so help me.

And really, I don’t blame Jenn. I blame the mono I got 2 years ago. It lasted 6 months, and my immune system has never been the same. In fact, this is only the second time in my life I’ve gotten the flu. The other time? Last year, in the thick of mono-ville. I didn’t know it at the time, because I’d never gotten the flu before, so instead I crafted this rather defeated Easter post, the highlight of which is this description of our Easter feast:

My tradition is to put on a dinner with lamb, lots of sides, and a special themed cake. This year? Costco steaks from last week, and maybe hot potatoes if I can rally enough to get them in the microwave for 8 minutes. Green beans from a can. Pastel M&M’s for dessert. Served on paper plates with a big side of cranky.

Ah, yes, flu. Last year you nearly killed me…this year you must be back to finish the job. Well, back off. I’ve got a Neti pot full of chicken soup, and I’m not afraid to use it.

5 Responses

  1. Oh no! Not the Parisian Flu of Death! It can’t possibly be fair to get hit with that when you haven’t gotten to enjoy a week of chocolat first.

    Do yourself a favor – get some Mucinex STAT. Of all the drugs my Dr. gave me (and that stingy bastard didn’t actually give me anything good. Robotussin? Really? Where the F are the narcotics?) that one made the biggest difference. Got all that gross stuff unstuck.

    Good luck this weekend. :smoooooch:

  2. One of my errands took me to a Target today (sorry, all you now cross contaminated people!) and I got me some Mucinex D…so glad to hear it will be more than just a placebo.

    I think the least you could do after giving me this via the web is send me some of that good chocolat. I’m sure you’ve stashed some somewhere?!

  3. Hope you feel better soon! Doesn’t a soup bath sound good?

  4. Oof, sounds terrible. But I’ve got to say, I can only think that trying to pour chicken soup via Neti pot through your sinuses can only be worse!! Eeps! Don’t do it!

  5. Or, if you do – make sure you video it for YouTube. 😉

    As for the chocolate – are you kidding me? Any chocolate that got close enough to go in my bag was close enough to eat. And eat it I did. Mmmmmmmm.

    Hope you’re feeling better already.

Leave a Reply

