Autumn Hike.

I know it’s not autumn, but something else to do on cold winter days is to look through your iphoto history. So many pictures I can hardly download them before I’m off and running again. I’d been meaning to blog about a wonderful hike we took last October, but then didn’t. Probably all the Halloween craziness made me forget. And hey, I forgot to blog about the Halloween craziness…that’s how crazy it was.

In any case, the kids and I attended a bird banding activity at Barr Lake–a manmade lake that serves the local farmers, but also has become quite a bird sanctuary. To get to where they were banding the birds, we had to hike around the lake for a bit. Actually, Sassy didn’t have to hike because she pulled the old, “My tummy is sick and I’m gonna throw up!” routine, and I always take that threat very seriously. So I carried her for most of the backbreaking way until she made a miraculous recovery and ran off.

IMG_7600

What I love about the hike around the lake is that there are markers along the walk that give little nuggets of wisdom. To wit:

Nature quote

which says, “Everything that slows us down and forces patience; everything that sets us back in the slow circles of nature, is a help.” May Sarton.

I just love this quote. It makes me think specifically of THIS little slowdown named Sassy:

IMG_7604

I’ve taken to repeating “She IS a help, she IS a help” over and over again. It’s my new mantra.

I also really liked this little quote:

Nature quote 2

“There is nothing like walking to get the feel of a country. A fine landscape is like a piece of music. It must be taken at the right temp.” Paul Scott Mowrer.

Isn’t that just like life, too? It must be taken at the right tempo. Too often I find myself rushing it along to quickly. In fact, that’s my new years resolution. Take life at the proper tempo. A nice walking pace. I’ll let my kids lead the way in this…they’re much better at it than I am.

IMG_7606

2 Responses

  1. BEautiful! Fit my need for green ground and blue sky. After so much Dec. snow I think I’m hitting my winter wall early (usually feb/march). I want to go outside, in the sunshine, and go for a hike. Of course the trails are closed due to insane amounts of ice. But. I see your beautiful photos. It’s all goooooood. 🙂

    And good quote. Exactly.

  2. Alright. I know we have the same camera. But your photos are lookin way sharper and brighter than mine. So I have Qs: What lens(es) do you use? And are you adjusting the saturation and if so, are you doing so in the camera or editing post? And how the heck are you learning how to do all this so quickly?? I can’t seem to absorb all I’m learning and produce the photos I know my camera can produce.

    Email me so we can dish.

Leave a Reply

