Stress Relief 101–Peanut Butter, Chocolate, & Puppies.

This week has been a doozy Chez Child’s Play. Tantrums, mental breakdowns, whining, emotional overloads, sleeplessness followed by extreme crankiness…and that’s just me! I won’t even get started on the kids issues.

During times like this, in which I am the rock on which everyone crashes, there is only one thing to do. It happens to be the first step to stress relief, and it involves chocolate and peanut butter.

Please, if you ever find yourself with an overwhelmed child or you yourself are heading in that direction, take a step back and move into the kitchen. Put everything on the backburner and make it your life’s work to find powdered sugar, chocolate chips, and peanut butter so that you may construct the Almighty Bringer of Peace:

chocolate peanut butter ball.

The Chocolate Peanut Butter Ball.

Recipe:

Melt a cup or so of chocolate chips in the microwave. Start at 30 seconds, mix, put in for another 30 seconds, mix, etc., etc., until melted.

Have child stir peanut butter and powdered sugar together. I don’t have precise measurements because this is usually done under the gun, but I’d say about a cup of each? You can add more of either ingredient as needed. It should reach the consistency of play doh.

Form round type objects with a spoon, and then dump peanut butter mixture into melted chocolate mixture. Roll it around until covered.

Place gooey chocolate ball on paper plate.

Repeat until you have a plate full of chocolatey peanut butter balls.

Place in freezer for 10 minutes or so.

While the balls chill out, take a moment to chill yourself and your child out. Lick the rest of the melted chocolate out of the bowl or something.

Pretty soon you’ll have these:

chocolate peanut butter ball.

But don’t ask your daughter to hold one up for the camera like this:

chocolate peanut butter ball.

Because she’ll just hold it up for a second and then take off to eat it in peace somewhere else.

she's getting away with the Chocolate Peanut Butter Ball!

Bye bye Chocolate Peanut Butter Ball. Hellloooo smile!

This little recipe has gotten me out of many an escalating crisis.

If that doesn’t seem to be working, grab a puppy and get some puppy kisses. I happen to have one here that’s ready to start lickin’…

Frito Bandito

8 Responses

  1. Oh, my mouth started watering as soon as I saw that thing of beauty and peace. I like the idea of SOMEONE ELSE making these. As in, I’m heading for complete overload and someone stops everything and heads into the kitchen and makes these and then lets me lick the bowl while we’re waiting. So. Can I come over? Please? If I started driving now…

    : )

  2. Hey! We use that same recipe! When I learned to make them I was told, “start with a big glob of peanut butter, and keep adding powdered sugar until it’s not sticky any more.” Very scientific.

  3. Wow. I think I am making this when I go home for lunch and bring some back for my co-workers.

  4. yum, I’m putting this idea in the “in case of emergency” file 🙂

  5. I’ll be right over. 🙂

  6. I wanna dip that doggie in chocolate and eat him right up! He’s so cute! 🙂
    And chocolate/pb is an emergency food group. Something they don’t teach you in health class. LOL!

  7. Great idea! People often forget to take some time to have fun! When you are overwhelmed why not do something fun for everyone and this is a great way to do that. Not only is it fun, but it is tasty too! You can’t lose.

  8. Fun, yummy way to cool the tension! Peanut butter has protein so they’re healthy, right? 😉 Actually I think you might be on to something with combining protein and sugar…maybe it’s a comfort food because it physically gets low blood sugar in check…I know with my kids and me, when ours dips too low things go downhill fast!

    New to your blog and really enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

