My “Go To”

IMG_8147

Kristin over at Maine Momma posted her favorite ‘go to’ recipe when the weather turns warm. Hers is a lovely marinade/dressing to put over greens that works equally well as a marinade on some pork. Looks delish!

I have a ‘go to’ recipe of my own–this one for a fruit dish that I make just about once a week from the time I open my windows to nice, crisp spring air, until I have to shut them again when Autumn blows through. It’s just. that. good. I originally got this from my sister-in-law, a former Miss Kentucky who manages to do everything effortlessly, all while looking like she’s ready for a close up.

I use this fruit trifle as a fruit salad to accompany the meal, however most people would consider it a dessert. I found this out when I had a friend over and told her to bring a dessert, and then she showed up with a similar fruit trifle while I had made this one for a ‘fruit salad’. I then had to clarify that something is only a desert if it has chocolate in it.

The recipe:

Half an angel food cake, torn into bite size pieces.
A packet of vanilla pudding (4 oz. size), mixed and chilled.
A tub of cool whip (any size works, just depends on how much you like cool whip!)

An assortment of seasonal, available, fresh fruits. My favorites are: strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, bananas, and raspberries.

In a deep dish, layer ingredients. This can be a creative choice and differs for everyone, but I do it this way:

angel food cake, fruit, pudding, cool whip, then repeat once again, or as many times as you can fit in your container.

It’s rare that I have any left over, but if I do, it’s even better the next day. And for July 4th, it’s fun to make this with strawberries and blueberries to play up the ‘red, white, and blue’ theme.

I just happen to have some already made up today (I told you I make it every week!) and I’ll have it along with Kristin’s marinade on some salad.

I don’t know which I love more–warm weather or warm weather food!

9 Responses

  1. both! the weather and the food! this looks good but even more so it is easy. perfect.

  2. Hey, this is my staple Summer dessert recipe (sorry, didn’t know about the chocolate rule). Only instead of pudding, I use lemon pie filling folded with whipping cream…and then of course, more whipping cream. But other than that, it’s the exact same recipe. Great minds and all that eh?

  3. Mommy rarely makes that anymore! I’m going to tell her to make it soon, it’s sooo good. : ) Thanks for saying she does everything perfectly haha. And people say I’m just like her ; )

  4. looks so yummy!

  5. I would like to place an order =)

  6. um. can we make this this summer at my pool party? yay!

Leave a Reply

