First Summer Harvest!

60 days ago, Sassy put little seeds into the dirt, patted them down, watered them, and then checked on them every day thereafter. Then we left for California for 3 weeks. Then, when we came back, she discovered just how much they had grown!

IMG_8225

Even better, she noticed the actual pea pods!

IMG_8202

So, one morning, she and I got on our harvesting aprons and set to work.

Two Peas in a Pod.

IMG_8180

First Pea of the Season!

Our haul:

My creation

As you can see, she was a much more diligent harvester of peas.

As Sassy went around collecting pea pods, I heard her whisper, “thank you, pea plant!” every time she’d break one off. It’s nothing I taught or told her to do, I think it comes from putting in all the work beforehand to get the pea plants to grow. It’s just one of the reasons I love to garden with my kids.

My creation

2 Responses

  1. I love this story. I told Zoe (or she heard me, I don’t know) to thank the plants, or maybe to just ask them for permission when we cut something out from them.
    She does so too.

Leave a Reply

