Math Monday::math links

Recently I’ve been feasting on the tastiness of Delicious.com. It’s called ‘social bookmarking’ and I hadn’t really paid much attention to it until now…come to find out it’s a valuable tool to help me keep track of where I’ve been on the internet and the cool things I’ve found there.

For those of you, like me, totally ignorant of the genius of this idea, I’ll explain a little. The internet has been the most important tool for me as I navigate unschooling, parenting a bunch of 2e kids, and trying to keep sane in the process. I am constantly on the lookout for ideas, games, information, blogs, companies, books, articles, and resources…from the outside it may look like I have an unhealthy dependence on the computer, but to me I feel like I’m putting myself through a graduate program of ‘learning these things as I go’ with the internet being my textbook. So for the past 4 years I’ve been bookmarking stuff, but in the process I’ve forgotten where most of it is and I have this long unreadable bookmark list that doesn’t make any sense.

Enter Delicious, where I uploaded all my bookmarks and where they are now tagged with a subject and organized according to topic. And where I can now share them with the rest of the world. Now when people ask me where I found something or how I came across an article, especially in the unschooling/homeschooling/2e community, they can see exactly where I looked.

So, for instance, I have 3 groups of tags having to do with math.
26 links to Math. Some of my more brilliant bookmarks link to a company with great math games
an online computer math game called “The Game of Life“, a math curriculum called Noble Knights of Knowlege which I find brilliant yet totally obscure, etc., etc.

There are 9 links under Mathmatics. Mega Mathmatics is one of my favorite links, as are the vedic math and the mathdance, and natural math links. (I’m getting lazy with my html code but you can find the bookmark links when you head over to delicious.)

And then there are two links under Maths, both of them good reads!

My greatest resources are the people in the unschooling/2e community, so to have the chance to do social bookmarking is a brilliant leap allowing me to piggyback onto what other people have found rather than having to navigate through lots of internet trying to find it myself.

I am tiffbear, and I currently have no friends on my network, so, you know, I have lots of friend spaces open. Come join up if you haven’t already!

3 Responses

  1. This sounds promising. “Organize bookmarks” has been on my to-do list forever. It is daunting – I must have over one thousand bookmarks in there.

    I’m going to check this out.

    • best thing…it organizes them all for you! 🙂 I wish there were something like this available for my house.

  2. Hello!

    We are fellow unschoolers looking to bring some more math into our lives. My son is 8 and has a really hard time with very basic math. He does a lot of guessing instead of computing. I found your link to the Noble Knights of Knowledge and wondered how much you’ve used it and if you think its a good resource for teaching basics. Thanks!

    Brianna

Leave a Reply

