It’s not a really good night until someone throws up.

Last night, Sassy and I went to the County Fair. The older two kids stayed here after learning that while I would pay for food and drinks, they were responsible for buying the ride tickets with their own money. It’s amazing how spending their own savings helps prioritize things for them…they both decided they needed to save instead of spend. So, they stayed home while Sassy and I kicked up our heels and went out on the town.

The carousel is a favorite, both for her to ride and for me to photograph:
IMG_6238

IMG_6391

The UFO ride:
IMG_6210

After riding for a bit, we were enticed by the carnival foods.

IMG_6374

this sign in particular caught my attention:
IMG_6375

so we stood in line to wait for our funnel cake and shaved ice.
25:365

Ahhhh, funnel cake!
aaaaaaaa

We sat and ate, and then she ate some more while I took pictures:
IMG_6435
IMG_6451
love in bokehvision
IMG_6325

Before I knew it, she'd hoovered through the funnel cake and downed the entire shaved ice (in Tiger Blood flavor…nice and red!), so we decided to call it a night. but not before watching the big crazy upside down rides for a while.
spin

We talked about lots of things while sitting on the bench…Sassy is never at a loss for words. It’s nice to spend one on one time with each kid, even if it’s for just an hour or two a couple times a week. This night, Sassy and I stayed at the Fair for 4 frenetic hours. She told me about her dream where I was a cupcake and she was a banana. She told me about her plans to marry Hubby when she’s old enough. She chatted about what rides she’ll go on when she gets older (nothing upside down!).

When it got a little chilly, we headed back to the car. We drove home, then she put herself to bed and was asleep within 5 minutes.

This morning she woke up in my bed, as she frequently gets up in the middle of the night to sneak in for the remainder of the night. She tells me her dream about candy and cereal, and then announces “I threw up last night”.

“In your dream?” I ask.
“No, in my bed!” she replies.
“So, while you were in your bed, you dreamed that you threw up?”
“No, there is throw up in my bed right now!”

And yes, yes there is. Very Tiger Blood red all over.

“I didn’t get any on my clothes!” she said proudly.

The night was great before, but the vomit puts it into awesome territory. Because everyone knows it’s not a really good night until someone throws up.

9 Responses

  1. that is 23 kinds of awesome!

  2. LOL!! It’s sooooo true!! Jessie ALWAYS throws up when she’s had a good day!! Tiger Blood Red is something ELSE though!! ;D

  3. AHAHAHA! That last sentiment is very… Your Family.

  4. HA! that is so right. sure sign of a “good” time.

    XOXO
    so glad yo had a night alone.
    that is rare and so fun when it can happen

  5. I found you via LeSophie’s flickr stream ( you guys are cracking me up with the prom business, btw).
    Your photos are fantastic and this is a great post. oh man, too much funnel cake….

    be well!

  6. fabulous!
    i read the post aloud to my boys (ages 10 and 12)…
    then we reminisced our own emetic adventures (from the top bunk!)….

  7. That is so funny! I love your photos and how you write about the events in your life. Truly wonderful!

  8. I love that she was so proud of not getting any on her. How sweet! And tiger blood red? Well that’s just so sassy. πŸ˜‰

  9. Ah motherhood πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

