Birthday Girl in the house!

Math Monday is being preempted by a little something called, “My Baby Is Now A Teenager”. The part of teenager will be played by Naturalist, the part of the disbelieving and shellshocked mom will be played convincingly by me.

Seriously…wha?????

I remember so clearly holding her tiny little newborn body in my arms. I remember all those sleepless nights (and there were tons…she still doesn’t like to sleep, even to this day!) walking around with her. I remember her first steps, and her first words (which were probably something like, “I really want to do this my way, mom, thank you very much…”).

What I don’t remember is how she got to be so old, so fast. Because it seems like all those things happened last year…not 13 years ago.

IMG_8435

In honor of this memorable birthday, I’ll list 13 awesome and interesting things about Naturalist. In no particular order, they are:

1) When she puts her mind to doing something, she’ll find a way to do it.
2) She has a wry and insightful sense of humor, which is one of my favorite things about her.
3) She has a deep jazzy singing voice that sounds so cool when she agrees to sing out loud for me.
4) She’s a problem solver.
5) She cares deeply about nature and the environment.
6) She’s always up for a challenge!
7) I don’t think she’s slept more than 5 or 6 hours straight through in her whole life.
8) She creates 24/7, in any format and with anything available to her. Her mind never stops thinking and creating.
9) She has an open mind.
10) She is a fantastic older sister!
11) She’s slept outside on our patio with just a blanket and a pillow for probably 300 out of 365 days of the year–even during last winter.
12) She loves loves LOVES to read science fiction all the time.
13) She’s the best daughter a mother could have. 🙂

Bench Monday::Birthday Edition

6 Responses

  1. Happy Birthday!! I can’t beleive it- a teenager! Great pics, btw.

  2. Happy 13th birthday Naturalist!!!

  3. Happy birthday Brooke – you’ve done a great job, Mom 🙂

    Speaking of the science fiction Brooke likes to read – has she read The Hunger Games yet? It seems like it would be perfect for her. I loved it!!

  4. Great birthday list! I should be so blessed to have such a lovely, intelligent and thoughtful daughter 🙂 Hope you had a great day!!

  5. congrats, brooke!!
    couldn’t have a better friend……

Leave a Reply

