Ah, New York.

Streets of NYC

Still uploading pictures so I can tell the riveting tale of Naturalist and my trip to NYC. I know you’ve all been on the edge of your seats in anticipation…all 2 of you…and I’m sooooo close to being ready to dish the details via pictures.

I know it’s only been 2 weeks since we’ve been back home, but I really really miss the city. Don’t get me wrong, I love being in the countryside, with fields and farm animals and limited access to fast food or convenience. It’s soothing and calming.

BUT! The city and I are made of the same stuff. Chaos, energy, hustle and bustle, motion and noise. I love riding the subway–I love that I can get on anytime and go anywhere I want. I love taking it to some of the best museums anywhere!

IMG_6468

IMG_6397

I love being surrounded by strangers…a big mass of humanity all doing our own thing, ignoring each other maybe, but I got lost a whole bunch of times and got a lot of help from those same people when I needed it!

shooting from the hip

I love the art on the street

Jump for 9!

I love that Times Square is lit up so much, you can be walking down the street at 1:30 am and it feels like noon!

IMG_4872

I love that I can be just a subway ride away from eating the best food from any culture in the world…

Best Breakfast Evah!

I love sightseeing there!

Brooklyn Bridge sunset

Statue of Liberty

I love love love the city lights.

IMG_5617

And even though I was already madly in love with NYC (after growing up right next door in NJ) I discovered I could love it even more sharing it with Naturalist for the first time!

holding hands

5 Responses

  1. awesome- I have totally enjoyed your photos that you posted on Flickr so far.
    and this last picture is just sweet beyond words- I can feel the excitement and anticipation of a big fun journey/trip that you two are about to embark on.

    on a side note, my mom grew up in NJ (Clifton) so I used to go back every summer to visit with fam 🙂

  2. The photos are amazing! The energy and excitement radiates from the photos. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I grew up in Jersey too. Loved being a train ride away and could go hang out there, but could go back to the beach when I was done. I too remember taking my husband & son there for their first time many years ago. Like yours, it was a awesome experience. I look forward to when my girl and I go back to experience it together as well.

    Glad you enjoyed your trip! Oh yeah, great pics…especially the last one.

  4. i know that deep love for the city. i too have been bitten by that bug as a small child.
    so glad you could share your love with her and perhaps plant a seed of curiosity in her for the big city too.

    your pics make me long to go there. badly.

    and where the heck in jersey? did we have this convo before??? i lived i jackson and howell nj for 4 years in my teens

  5. I’ve been following all along, too, but I’ve neglected to comment (bad Amy, bad!). Your photos are amazing and I so get needing that hustle and bustle of the city (my two kids would concur–the eldest has been begging for a trip to NYC, pronto). It looks like you had an incredible trip, cheers to that!

Leave a Reply

