Indian Summer

Colorado is having a tough time deciding what kind of weather we should have this fall. Last week we were hit by a snowstorm that dumped 2 feet of snow, leaving our halloween decorations very confused:

our cutouts were so confused.

This week, the last couple days have been in the high 70’s, low 80’s, leaving me very confused but very happy:

Everyday Life 5

This schizophrenic weather is leaving me a bit off kilter…trying to enjoy Autumn while feeling like it’s Winter and at the same time bracing myself for winter while feeling like it’s summer. Very strange.

Summer is always a loud, boisterous season. Fall is a time to cycle back into a more quiet, subdued existence. Home and hearth, darkness and quiet. It feels like we only get 5 hours of sun. It brings with it more opportunities to spend time huddled together, but I also find myself wistful for the brighter moments. I loved reading this post by Tara about staying present and going with the changes. And then Amy over at On Bradstreet wrote a post about using November to ‘feather our nest’ at home. It brought out the simple and sweet comforts we can find at home going into the cold dark season. I appreciated reading that, too!

So, I’m off to feather my nest, as it were. I’ll let you know what I do once I decide what it is I’m doing. Which is sooo the story of my life, lol. I do know that we’ve started our weekly library trips back up, since it gets so dark so early now, and we have more time to cuddle up together to read. Maybe I’ll go fix up a book nook in a corner.

Enjoy the gifts of the season…I’m trying!

11 Responses

    • it never got cold or dark enough in Ca. to get into the cuddle season…here, sometimes it’s the only thing to do!

  1. Wow, you do have some real swings in temps. there ~ and I thought Maine was weird πŸ™‚ The favorite saying here is if you don’t like the weather, wait a minute, it will change!

    I do enjoy this time of year. We all seem to get closer, turn our attention back to “the nest”, stoking the woodstove and enjoying hot tea and a good book.

    I hope you and yours enjoy a delightful weekend!

    • we have that saying here, too! Sooo true!

      Naturalist is planning a trip to Maine next year, whether we go or not is up in the air, but she’s planning nevertheless! I hope we do so I can see your neck of the woods!

  2. Nice pics . Live photos. It feels like i am just peeping from behind the bush.

  3. I know exactly what you mean…except for the 2ft of snow. Still the weather here in Ontario is very inconsistent and leaves us wondering from day to day what kind of surprises we’re going to get.

    Like you guys, we try to take it all in stride and find ways to make the most of each day. Still, I love fall and I can’t wait for the first fire (in the fireplace) of the season.

    Happy Fall!

    • do you have a real fireplace?! so jealous. We have a fireplace, but it’s the fake gas kind where we can’t use real wood or get any heat from it. so sad!

      • Yup, real wood fireplace. I do feel fortunate in that we can roast marshmallows year round, whether we’re camping or not.

        And it sure came in handy two years ago when our furnace died the week between Christmas and New Years. πŸ˜›

  4. I love these pictures!

Leave a Reply

