Holiday Baking::Peach Crisp

everyday life 23.

There are two times I make this peach crisp…one is anytime in the two weeks leading up to Christmas. Two is anytime the temperature drops below freezing. And tonight, the temperature is going way waaaaay below 0. Making this, and putting on my footie pajamas, gives me a reason to celebrate this fact.

It’s taken me a few years to make this recipe just right–I like the topping of a crisp…brown sugar, oatmeal, and flour, but Todd likes the crust of a pie. And so, this little baby has a unique mix of pie crust underneath and crisp on top!

Peach Crisp:

One refrigerated pie crust (or, if you’re any good at it, a homemade one…but I’m no good at it.) placed into the bottom of a pie pan.

3-4 small cans of peaches, drained–dump these right into the pie crust.

mix together the topping:
1 cup oats
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
a few shakes of nutmeg/cinnamon/apple pie spice, whatever you have
1 cup melted butter (I know, I know!!!! 1 cup!!!! just do it!!!!!)

sprinkle topping on top of peaches, then bake at a 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes.

Take out when topping is brown and crispy, add vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream to your hearts desire! I eat it as slowly as possible, and let the warmth of the bowl of peach crisp get me all comfy cozy.

Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. so yummy !!!!!!!!!!

  2. Hey – looks yummy. Peach is John’s favorite and yesterday was his b-day. I should make some. So when you say small can of peaches – you mean the standard ones – like a campbell’s soup can size???

Leave a Reply

