Day 12::Simplify, Simplify, Simplify.

Can a former pack rat really condense a house and basement full of stuff into what will fit in one RV? Only time will tell. But by jove, I love a good challenge, and I’m stubborn, and I’m driven. But I’m also tired, sad, and a little lonely…good heavens, this is hard. It’s only day 12!!!

The basement is ready for people to come invade it and pay me $1 per item. I’m ready to reduce the amount of stuff I’m clinging on to like a life preserver. Because really? Everything I thought I needed isn’t keeping me afloat, it’s dragging me down in a thousand subtle ways. Whenever my resolve breaks just a little, I have Bono on itunes standby so he can sing the lyrics to ‘Stuck In A Moment’ to me:

“And you are such a fool
To worry like you do
I know it’s tough
And you can never get enough
Of what you don’t really need now
My, oh my

You’ve got to get yourself together
You’ve got stuck in a moment
And you can’t get out of it

Oh love, look at you now
You’ve got yourself stuck in a moment
And you can’t get out of it”

Oh, how did you know, Bono?! I am stuck in a moment, I’m stuck in a million little moments…tiny shoes, little stuffed animals, board books, baby toys… I’ve got to get myself together! I don’t need all those things. I keep one or two, then give the rest away, because I have memories and pictures, I don’t need the stuff as well.

I can’t say that I’ve found zen in the midst of this decluttering and disconnecting. It’s a hard process for a hoarder like me. But I have at least disconnected, so when I look at my basement I’m mostly angry by all this crap I now have to deal with. I just want to get rid of it, not from a place of peace but from a place of frenetic energy. My goal is to get the house on the market so our family can be together again. All this stuff is in my way. I just want to get it gone.

This drive to simplify is manifesting itself in interesting ways totally unrelated to cleaning house. I woke up a few mornings ago, started dealing with my hair, and was all, “What is UP with all this unnecessary HAIR?!!! WHY do I have all this superfluous HAIR to deal with?!” and 12 hours later (thanks to an accomodating hairstylist) it was all chopped off.

Devils haircut in my mind...
(the hipstamatic app for the iphone is really genius, by the way!)

Additionally, one morning I was washing my hands and was all, “What is UP with these wedding rings? WHY do I have TWO of them?! I can’t stand having superfluous RINGS on my FINGERS!!!” And so now this:

ring2

has become this:

ring

And I love it so much more. Just looking down and seeing a nice, plain, simple band of gold. Nothing fancy, nothing jazzy, nothing blingy, nothing superfluous. Just a wedding band. I’m sure one of these days I’ll put the engagement ring back on, it is awfully pretty and set in a Tiffany setting that hubby picked out because that’s my name. But not anytime soon. Simplify is the order of the day.

7 Responses

  1. I wear only my 10th anniversary ring on my wedding finger. I’d like to say it’s symbolic of modest simplicity but unfortunately it has more to do with the fact that neither my engagement ring nor wedding band fit me anymore. ;)

    You’re doing a great job! In the famous words of Papa Smurf, “Not far now!”

  2. I Love You Tiff

  3. I had the same reaction to my wedding rings, too. Now I wear my engagement ring on my other hand and it looks so pretty by itself.

    I’m sorry you’re feeling so lonely. You’ve given yourself an enormous task, physically, emotionally and logistically. One little bit at a time. When I get frustrated I remember Roosevelt: “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

  4. You are a POWERHOUSE, Tiff! I am constantly amazed by what you accomplish–homeschool-wise and beyond. Your hair is sassy-sexy. A perfect combo. If it’s possible, you and your sister look even more alike now!

  5. [...] on March 22, 2010 by childsplay As you all may have guessed by now, I‘m a reformed hoarder. I’ve ended up selling everything I own to take this RV adventure, but there are a few things [...]

  6. I’m loving your photos..

  7. [...] you all may have guessed by now, I‘m a reformed hoarder. I’ve ended up selling everything I own to take this RV adventure, but there are a few things [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

