Day 14::Taking Stock.

14 days. 2 weeks since I started on this adventure called, “Selling Everything I own”. Turns out, that’s a lot of work. Never having sold everything before, I had no idea what that would entail. First, I needed to disconnect from everything I owned for sentimental reasons. Second, I had to gather everything together from all the four corners of my home…throwing away the things that were no longer working or useful, keeping the few things that I can fit into an RV, and giving away or selling the rest.

So here’s how everything is looking right now.

My formal dining room before:

IMG_6750

and right now:

IMG_7819

The hallway before:

IMG_6779

and right now:

IMG_7820

The basement view, before and after:

looking right-
base3
now-
IMG_7821

middle-
base2
now-
IMG_7822

left-
base1
now-
IMG_7823

I’ve had three garage sales or informal gatherings where people can come buy my stuff, and everything that is left after 2 weeks is now in my garage waiting to be donated:

IMG_7964

Let’s check in and see how I’m holding up….

mebasement

Haven’t reached a happy place yet. There’s still so much to do. And, because we’re all still living here nothing stays static. Like, while I was in the basement, the kids were up in the playroom tearing it up again. So, it’s kind of like bailing out a leaky ship with a teaspoon. I envision finally getting to So. Cal and being in a near catatonic state. Just prop me up in a beach chair, stick a straw in my mouth connected to some kind of fruity drink, and leave me there for a while. I’ll blink twice when I get hungry.

2 weeks down. How many more to go?! That’s the million dollar question!

17 Responses

  1. Wow Tiff! I can’t believe we can see all your floors now! Did you ever find that golden box of books? πŸ™‚

  2. haven’t found it yet, but it’s here somewhere!

    did you see I blogged this before 11 pm just for you?! lol.

  3. When we got sick of garage sales before we moved out of the country we just stuck boxes full of stuff out on the curb with a sign that said “Free Stuff” on it. Amazing how much of it will disappear that way! We ended up with a much smaller pile to take to the thrift store, making things just a little easier and a little quicker.

  4. Do you own the RV yet? It looks like you’ve gotten rid of most of the volume. Do you have friends planning to take the furniture at the last minute?

    When I moved from Michigan to California, the moving truck left a day or 2 before I did, and I was sleeping on the floor on a Thermarest. It felt so strange. I still had get-rid-of piles around me, but almost none of what I would be keeping.

    • My dad is letting us borrow his, which is so nice! Once we sell the house, I’ll come back up to get rid of the furniture that’s left.

  5. LOVE the haircut!!

    My sister and her husband did the house cleanout thing about 8 years ago. They quit their jobs, sold their house, and took their third kid (7th grade homeschooled) on the road. They were gonna do it for 2 years. They are still doing it! The kid is now a senior at AZ State, and they have had part time jobs with the park services provider (Xanterra) long enough now that they are eligible for benefits! They have mastered the art of simple living.

    I’m jealous of your adventure.

    • wow, they’ve stayed on the road that long! that is a really cool story, I see alternative living runs in your family πŸ˜‰ And thanks, I am loving this haircut too. I don’t have to do anything with it, EVER!!! perfect for right now.

  6. you are doing an amazing job! keep up the great work. you’ll be on the beach before you know it!!

  7. Hi tiff, good to see that u are getting near.

    Here I am in complete loss. My hubby’s two important papers are missing and I am supposed to keep them in order. I have checked almost every cupboard and every paper in the house but cudn’t find them. Now I really wonder if I have thrown them in the bin. I can’t remember ! That is what I hate most about this cleaning up business!

    Paper keeping is something I really should learn ! πŸ˜€

    Good thing u have those photos. You can always check later what all did u have. πŸ˜€

    • oh no! I hope you find them! I am hopeless when it comes to keeping important things organized. Of course, I can tell you where all our movie ticket stubs are for the last 5 years, but cannot remember where our important bills are. Good luck!!

  8. Do you realize what you’ve accomplished? This is HUGE!! I am totally impressed that you’ve gotten so much done in only two weeks. You’ve got some stamina, woman! After this feat you’ll be ready for Ironman.

  9. Okay, that last pic kinda screams, “I’m so done with this.”

    And I don’t blame you. It’s taken me the better part of a decade to do what you’ve done in just the last two weeks.

    I am really impressed and think you rock! πŸ˜›

    Thanks so much for sharing your diary entry from 1987 too. I was also 15 and so it could have been a page right out of my own journal, if I had kept one at the time. I also totally get the fact that you’re laughing so hard about it now.

    Didn’t we just take ourselves so seriously back then?

  10. In Texas, you don’t even need a sign, anything on the curb is free game and is usually gone within hours. We put an old fridge out for pick up by the city the next morning (it was broken) and it was gone that night. The funny part was when DH drove by a yard sale in a near by neighborhood and saw it being sold. (It had a scratch/dent on one side that was pretty unique.)

  11. oh my, you are so flooring me with your awesome attitude and stamina. AND, you still have your wits about you! i am in awe, and cheering loudly for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

