Day 26::In Which I Debate Which Is More Painful…Natural Labor or Moving.

I’ve detailed the minute and daily grind that packing/moving is in my life for the past 26 days…I thought it would be so cool to highlight the kids and my glorious arrival in So. Cal. with only 2% of our former possessions, especially after sharing what a rough process it was to get down to that 2%.

Wouldn’t it be hilarious, though, if instead of a glorious arrival I instead posted some blog about losing my everloving mind, deciding to go ‘off the grid’ and then you never heard from me again? You’d all be like, “Wow. We just watched a woman have a breakdown via blog!” and then some very perceptive ones of you would correctly deduce that housework can indeed lead to complete mental and physical exhaustion.

Now, just so you known I’m not a wimp, I’ve done some demanding things in my time.

I had a completely natural labor 1 1/2 times. I had Naturalist without any drugs, and it was exquisitely painful and yet exquisitely powerful. With Sassy I had an epidural, but it only took on one side of my body, so half of me (the right side, if you must know) was pain free while the left side was going through active labor. It was quite a brain melter.

I’ve climbed mountains!

omg, snowfield.

I’ve had a Sassy to deal with for the last 5 1/2 years!

Sassy at 3

I’ve lived over in Hungary and schlepped two toddlers around Europe for 6 months!

Jungfrau

I’ve fed a giraffe with my mouth!

Giraffe faces are cute.

I listened to Lady GaGa for 9 hours straight on our last roadtrip from Ca. to Co. because my kids wanted to set a record for longest consecutive song listening. They smashed our old record (Space Mountain theme song) by 5 hours. When we leave to drive to Ca., they’re already talking about how long they can listen to Owl City’s ‘Fireflies’.

IMG_6290

All this to say, I know about endurance, willpower, determination, focus, and sticking things out. And yet, I think this move has been harder than any of those things, including natural labor. Because even though labor was waaaay more physically painful, it only lasted 12 hours.

In any case, Ashley is here now and moving things along smashingly. She’s even brought some much needed laughter and fun.

She also brought a $25 itunes gift card, so I can fill my tunes up with good road trip songs. So help a girl out…what songs would you get to help you through an exhausting packing process and 16 hour drive? Currently, Daft Punk’s “Harder Better Faster Stronger” is heavy on my playlist. Not the lame Kanye version, but their original. And, if you link through there, you’ll see the best video ever made. The words are tailor made for me right now:

“Work It Harder Make It Better
Do It Faster, Makes Us stronger
More Than Ever Hour After
Our Work Is Never Over”

And now, like Scarlet O’Hara famously said, “Tomorrow is another day”. Wish me luck!

15 Responses

  1. Someone just turned me onto Imagine Dragons…still a virtually unknown band nd not my usual taste in music but with some fun, upbeat tunes that get me thru some pretty boring tasks. You can check them out on Myspace.

  2. Sweet Home Alabama. You can change the state and make up your own words!

  3. I highly endorse anything on the CD “Millenium Funk Party”… I’ve played it beyond scratched oblivion… and it’s one of the only compilation CD’s I can think of that’s 11 years old and still commands a price of $15 on amazon.

    http://www.amazon.com/Millennium-Party-Funk-Various-Artists/dp/B000007RQ9

  4. Here’s and eclectic list for ya! xoxo

    (Not in any particular order)

    Cobra Starship’s “Hot Mess”
    Cinema Bizarre’s “Love Songs They Kill Me”
    Muse’s “Uprising”
    Passion Pit’s “Sleepyhead” and “The Reeling”
    Silversun Pick-up’s “Panic Switch”
    Kate Bush’s “Aerial”
    Be Good Tanya’s “Human Thing” and “Littlest Birds”
    Bird And The Bee’s “Love Letter To Japan” and “How Deep Is Your Love”
    Arcade Fire’s “Wake Up”
    Airborne Toxic Event’s “Sometime Around Midnight”
    Apollo Sunshine’s “Singing To The Earth”
    Delerium’s “Truly”
    Kelly Clarkson’s “All I Ever Wanted”
    The Noisette’s “Never Forget You”
    Bright Eyes’ “First Day Of My Life”
    Sia’s “Breathe Me”
    Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good”
    Bjork’s “Violently Happy”
    Sarah Mclachlan’s “Possession”
    Marianne Faithfull’s “Ballad Of Lucy Jordan”
    James Brown’s “Get Up Offa This Thing”
    Michael Buble’s “Everything”
    Cyndi Lauper’s “I Drove All Night”
    Carly Simon’s “Let The River Run”
    Sinatra’s “Fly Me To The Moon”
    Aidemus “Lord Of The Rings”
    Irish Makeover’s “Molly Malone”
    Toni Child’s “Don’t Walk Away”
    Alka Yagnik & Ila Arun’s “Ringa Ringa”
    Aretha’s “Freeway Of Love”
    The All-American Rejects’ “Another Heart Calls” and “Gives You Hell”
    Katy Perry’s “Fingerprints”
    Abdel Ali Slimani’s “Moi et Toi”
    Tears For Fears”Mad World”
    Lebo M’s “Busa”
    Imogen Heap’s “Hide & Seek” and “Headlock”
    A Fine Frenzy’s “Rangers”
    Amethystium’s “Fable”
    Frou Frou’s “Let Go”

    • Amy, LOVE it 🙂 I have a bunch, just a few days ago added some Airborne Toxic Event and Passion Pit, so know I’ll love the rest here. I’ll go take a listen… 🙂

  5. INdigo Girls “Get out the map”
    Ani Difranco’s “Arrival’s Gate”

  6. I’m just so sorry that I haven’t been able to comment here, or to drive over and help clean/pack/indulge in primal scream therapy. I’ve been overwhelmed, and not even as much as you. Best of luck to you as you finish the last few days of moving, and have a safe trip out. I wish I could have gotten to know you better locally, but know that I’ll still be reading here. 🙂

  7. Hey, is that you and Ashley in the video? 😉

  8. your 9 hour listening records deserves to be on the record database http://urdb.org/ I bet you guys could set new records as well… (like fastest time emptying a house)

    cheers!

  9. The epidural only took part of half of my lower body too! Only a small portion of my left leg. Agh…

  10. […] This 52 weeks project comes along at a time when I’m reevaluating a lot of internal things I’ve got going on. At the beginning of the year I cleaned house and reevaluated between what I needed and what I was wasting time/energy/storage space on…now I find myself cleaning my psyche in much the same way. It’s just as difficult going inward as it was looking outward. […]

Leave a Reply

