Day 29::Abandon Ship!

I met with our realtor today, she walked through the house and approved it to go on the market! And, to prove the Universe not only talks women speak but also has a sense of humor, it’s going on the market tomorrow…Groundhog Day. So fitting, as I’ve felt like I’ve been living the same freaking day for the last 29. She also took pictures for the virtual tour and let me cry on her shoulder. Literally. It’s what happens now anytime someone asks me how I am. I’m a real social charmer that way! So, the papers are signed and our departure is imminent.

This whole experience has mirrored having a baby in so many weird ways. I spoke to another friend of mine who agreed that when they moved from Houston to Colorado she felt the same way. I know that once I get on the road and start our California adventure I will feel so excited and good. But until then, and for the next couple days, I’m pushing so hard to get us gone and it’s just painful. I look around at the mountains, at the farmland, at the fields covered in snow, at my friends, and it’s bittersweet to be saying goodbye.

jump for Colorado!

I’ve never been real great at ending things. If it’s a good day, or experience, or time, then I’d prefer for it to go on just the same forever and ever. The universe is wise, though, and knows that if I stay in one thing forever then I’d miss out on too many other great things I don’t know about. So, she likes to mix it up for me. Thanks, Universe. And I’m only being slightly sarcastic.

The final nail in the moving coffin is the stage where all the food in the house gets doled out and the kitchen gets packed up. I did all that last weekend because I have had to multitask and it needed to get done. The upside is, everything is packed and gone!

before:
food3

almost after…right now, it’s all empty!

food6

The downside is, we have no food in our pantry. We’ve been living off peanut butter, almond butter, homemade vegitarian sushi (easier than making a sandwich!) bean dip, tortilla chips, and whatever charity food my friends bring us. I’ll say one thing, it makes cooking a TON easier.

food2

A lot of our canned goods have been shipped to Haiti–most of our year supply of food storage, actually. The rest has gone to friends or local food collections.

food5

on it’s way out…
food7

Tomorrow I’ll clean the car, pack it up, do all the 304589034985039458304958 last minute things that make life miserably tedious, and then Wed. I’ll put the kids and I in the minivan and away we’ll go.

Can you believe it? Did you think I’d even make it this far? Were some of you secretly hoping I’d have a total meltdown?! Don’t worry, there’s still time and a long drive ahead of me!

Who wants to come hang out in an RV with us? We’re taking reservations now! We won’t have room in the RV, but we can throw a tent outside for you! Naturalist announced she was going to have a “My Mom Is Awesome” party for me when we get down to So. Cal., which is the sweetest thing ever. First, though, I guess I have to make some friends so people will show up for it.

22 Responses

  1. HUGS! You can do it !!!!!!

  2. I’d love to hang out with you if you ever make in to the South! Good luck with the last minute stuff. You are ALMOST done! Woo hoo!

  3. Wow, crazy. I can’t believe you’re almost done. It will feel better once you get on the road!! It’s hard to move. It’s hard to change. It’s okay to be sad. But look at the amazing things that have already happened.
    I can’t wait to hear about what’s to come. It’s going to be better than you could have imagined.
    Hang in there!!
    Amy

  4. You.are.AMAZING. Really and truly. I’ve been reading your saga every day with a sense of awe (and more often than not, tears in my eyes). What an accomplishment! I bet your husband is so very proud of you.

    Best of luck on the rest of your journey! I can’t wait to hear about all your new adventures.

  5. I’ve been reading along in awe and wonder and definitely rooting for you the whole way! I knew you could do it, and it is inspiring. I will come back to read your words the next time I have to do something very difficult and challenging!

    Thanks for encouraging me to step outside my comfort zone. It’s easy to just coast by on what we know, but so much more rewarding to challenge ourselves and try something new.

  6. You totally have everyone’s permission to pull over and cry when you reach the Colorado border!

  7. Wow, you’ve done it! You’re amazing!

  8. The rig is in the shop being detailed inside & out. Doheney & Huntington Beach await!

  9. I will be at your awesome mom party!

  10. omigosh!!! i can’t believe that you’ve done this so quickly!! this is really truly amazing and crazy (in the BEST possible way!!) to get rid of everything in your house, except what fits in your new smaller home on wheels…i have seriously been sitting on the edge of my seat to see the start of the new adventure! can’t wait! good luck with the final things!!

  11. You are amazing and I can’t wait to see you without skype!

  12. How fantastic! I am so very impressed at your perseverance and strength. Can’t wait to continue hearing about your journey to and in CA.

  13. I’m up for hanging out. I’m in Orange County. Best of luck on your trip!

  14. amazing. amazing. amazing. And yes, how fitting that it goes on the market on groundhogs day!! I cannot wait to keep following your incredible adventure πŸ™‚ Now that you’re done — i’m a tiny bit jealous of your lack of “stuff”. It’s not a journey i’d enjoy embarking on personally being a serious pack rat — but the end results would be so rewarding…!!

  15. Is this our last chance to comment? Will you be incommunicado while traveling? You are a powerhouse! (I would have moved my leaving date back at least 3 times.)

    May all the miles go smoothly.

  16. I knew you’d make it! I never had any doubt. You will look back on this many years from now and it won’t have seemed anywhere near this bad. πŸ™‚

    Pat yourself on the back and remember no goodbye is forever. Colorado is always here for you to visit and your friends will always be waiting for you with open arms, no matter where they might be in this world.

    Safe Travels my friend, if you can, stop by Salida on your way to So. Cal, I would love to celebrate with you and feed you some yummy food. πŸ™‚ I totally understand if it is not on your route, but there is some pretty amazing scenery down here and all the way to Santa Fe. Don’t rush your drive too much, stop and smell the roses along the way. Let your soul bask in the freedom you have worked so hard for. πŸ™‚

  17. It’s so very hard moving, and saying goodbye to everything. I’ve done a lot of it in my life, and I can sympathise with your current feelings.

    But starting somewhere new is exciting, and scary, and exciting again πŸ˜‰

    Well done for doing it, and so quickly – we knew you could. Sharing your groundhog month with us has been so very inspiring.

    I’d love to hang out at your RV, or come to your “awesome Mom” party, but I shall have to wave from over here.

    Safe journey.

  18. Woo Hoo!! You did it, you did it, you did it! Looking forward to hearing about all the exciting stuff that comes next. I can’t imagine the Universe doesn’t have fun planned for you. πŸ™‚

    We’ll come party with you for sure. You deserve it!

    Happy travels.

  19. (((HUG)))
    When, where and time of your awesome mom party!! I can fly out – sure – right?!

  20. Keep it up! You are way in the home stretch!!! Enjoy these last bittersweet Colorado moments with the Mountains in the distance – drink in the memories from your time there (which are also so beautifully catalogued in many ways HERE!!) And have sweet dreams tonight of new beginnings and having your family reunited. Your journey is giving me strength.
    xxoxoxoxoxoxox Lisa

  21. I’ll show up in your party.
    Because you rock.
    And Naturalist rocks too.

  22. I’ll come!

Leave a Reply

