Victory Over My Basement of Doom!

It just dawned on me that I haven’t shared perhaps the single greatest change I’ve ever made in 30 days time. And actually, I started on my basement 1 1/2 weeks into my moving extravaganza, so technically it was done in 20 days time.

Remember my basement, also known as Mordor? I describe it in detail way back on day 11.

It took me 20 days of constant battle with that beast. I had boxes of stuff that I’d moved 3 times in the last 16 years and hadn’t even opened yet. I had boxes that had mated with other boxes and had little baby boxes. Once I’d given up on the basement ever getting organized, I’d taken to just kind of tossing stuff down there I didn’t want to deal with and then running away quickly.

Well, it took determination, cherry coke, Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, and friends, but I finally tamed the beast. I proudly present the before and after of my basement:

the top is the before, and the bottom is the after:

victory over my basement of doom.

The last night in our house, I walked down and looked to my right.

IMG_9916

I looked to my left:

IMG_9915

And then I layed down and cried.

IMG_9911

And not because of the reason I was expecting. Having a tendency to hoard stuff, I expected I would be sad to have so much gone. But the reality is, I was so relieved to be free of it all. I felt so uncomplicated. So simple! And I couldn’t think of one thing that I’d gotten rid of in all those hundreds of things, that I’d give back a little of my newfound lightness for.

In total, for our appx. 4700 square foot house:

IMG_9985

I am keeping with me what I packed in my minivan:

IMG_9891

and the remainder of things that I’ll pick up when we sell our house:

IMG_9906

And THAT, my friends, is why this woman deserves a party.

But don’t bring me gifts, because I’m not anxious to fill up any of my uncomplicatedness with more stuff. I like feeling this simple.

IMG_9839

But ice cream and cherry coke…that sounds about right!

16 Responses

  1. I just want your house.
    But I’ll bring Ben and Jerry’s and Cherry Coke. 🙂

  2. Woo-hoo! What an effort! Enjoy your new life in CA!

  3. Though I don’t think you meant to be, I want you to know what an amazing inspiration you are to me. I have till March 1st to clear out my clutter and just knowing that it is indeed possible for a mom with kids to get it all done is HUGE to me.

    Thank you

    Thank you

    Thank you

    Let me know when you to Ca.

    I live on the boundary between Orange county and LA county. Kind of Long Beach ish

    Love and Laughter,
    Amy

  4. wow wow wow!!!!

  5. That is awesome. You did an amazing job cleaning house…literally and figuratively. You have one more thing you can add to your list of reasons you rock this world. Hugs to you and I’m sooo glad you are in CA!

  6. Wow at your house!

    And now I’m even more amazed that you managed to get down to an RV-sized pile of stuff!

    Deeply impressed 🙂

  7. tif, i am truly impressed and inspired…4000 sq feet here i want to get rid of and working very slowly on…i am so coming to your party!! I really can feel your release and new freedom…what an amazing lesson you are teaching your children. although i have adopted the ‘only buy it if it serves a function or has an incredible story’ method of shopping…the famn damily likes to donate those boxes that mate and make baby boxes of plastic worthless impulse items….ARGH! big hugs and bigger ‘CHEERS’ to you!!!! luv ya, mean it!!!!

    xo Karen

  8. way to go!!!

  9. 4700 sq feet???? I had no idea! I have even more respect for you for getting rid of so much stuff in such a LARGE space! Holy cow!! I think it would take me 30 days to go through my 2400 square feet with lots of help. Girl, you are amazing!!
    And I’m glad you feel light now and not sad!!
    I wish I lived in Cali so I could come to your party and have some cherry coke and ice cream with you!!!
    And do update us on the Cali thing! How’s the RV? etc? Dying to know!!
    Thinking of you!!!!

  10. I’d come over right now to party with you!
    Would mojitos be fine? I’ll make mean mojitos!
    Rock’n’roll girl!

  11. Tiff – awesome before and afters! You truly are a rockstar – amazing mom, sister, friend. I pray for a nano-bite of the strength it took you to dig down and accomplish what you’ve accomplished. Enjoy those flip-flips – and your deep dark tan.

  12. Wow, Tiffany…I’ve been reading your blog this morning and I’ve felt a combination of emotions. First of all, good for you! It is hard work to purge but it is o so satisfying! I’m loving your blog and your pics and your commentary. I’ll have to follow along.
    A part of me is a little green as I’ve been where you are and loved it and so I look on at your pics longingly. I hope to go back someday soon.
    I wish you adventure, joy and discovery!

  13. Wow, Tiffany! I’m so happy I found your blog… My parents have an RV… and I love reading Sara’s blog (walk slowly, live wildly – which is how I found you). My question… I’m a bit of a hoarder, too… between hobbies, and crafts, and clothes and shoes…. YIKES! And our house ain’t that big… how do you “let go”. I know I need to… I’m getting to the point of wanting to…. I just don’t know how to make that final decision. What did you do? How did you decide to what to keep and what went away? thanks! I wish you all the best in your adventure! How fun!!

Leave a Reply

