Inside the devious mind of an RV.

Ok, ok, the internets have spoken, and they want pictures of the RV! Gotcha! And as my Hubby will attest, I am nothing if not compliant and accomodating.

I’m not really great at this WordPress app yet ( or typing on this infernal iPhone) so the pics will upload in one big clump– you’ll have to match what I type with the right picture.

This won’t take long, the RV is 35 feet by 8 feet. Roughly the size of my bathroom and closet back in Colorado, not that I think that over and over and over. I’m just pointing it out as a comparison.

When you walk in there are the front seats on your right. These are Sassy’s play areas. In front of you there is the sofa that turns in to a bed. The wall in back of it slides out when not driving so there’s more room. 2 kids sleep on that.

If you turn your whole body a quarter turn left, you’ll look down the length of the RV, with the kitchen area running down the length on the right side. The fridge is kind of big. The pantry is…well…not. It makes me want to scream, “how am I expected to work in these abysmal conditions?!”. Moving on…

The bathroom is on the right, with a shower and toilet. I’m not about to deal with sewer crap (no pun intended) so I’ve put a ban on using the toilet. We use the city beach facilities, which is just like being in prison I imagine. Concrete and stainless steel.

The master bedroom is at the back, it’s the one with the million dollar view. I still haven’t unpacked my suitcase because I’ve already filled the closet and drawer space. I seeeeeriously overestimated the size of this place.

Golfer and I measured it using Frito’s 16 foot leash, and it goes from the front of the cab to the front of the bedroom which is probably another 5 or 6 feet beyond that. Whichever kid isn’t sleeping on the couch bed gets to choose a spot on the floor and curl up on a sheepskin rug with Frito. I’m just trying to help them build character, people!

I think that’s about it. Any questions? Did I cover everything?

36 Responses

  1. OMG, so much fun!!! So glad you guys made it safe and sound & are getting used to the new digs. πŸ˜‰

    xoxo

  2. wow – that is a sweeeeet RV! cool! i am so jealous! πŸ™‚

  3. Hey! There’s the cloak!
    That RV is stylin’. Seriously, its something a rock star would be in. πŸ™‚

  4. yes i would say those are CLOSE quarters! no secrets now. but man the viewwwwww!!!! oh oh that view!

  5. You are here. : )

    • I’ll call you so we can hook up, I’m right at Huntington lifeguard station 9 :). Hopefully the weather cooperates!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. so cool
    any slide outs or bunks to make things cozy????
    the view is so awesome
    this is what my family has been dreaming of
    enjoy

    • The sofa in front slides out, and the back bed does too. No bunks, but that would be nice!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. Sorry to hear your little one was in the ER.
    Looks like you got a great view.
    See ya,
    Michelle

  8. Oh. Em. Gee. I always suspected you were a super-hero, and now here’s the proof. I would definitely kill everyone after a week in there. You are a stronger woman than I am. (I guess if you feel any homicidal thoughts creeping up, you can just go outside and wade in the ocean. That would probably help. )

    Good luck finding a spot for your wardrobe. When in doubt, take over Hubby’s storage spaces. πŸ˜‰

    • Our first two days here have been rainy, I figure if I haven’t harmed anyone or anything by now, I probably won’t ever. The sound of the waves is so hypnotic!

      Sent from my iPhone

  9. AWESOME! If not a bit tight fitting… πŸ™‚ I continue to pick up tips and cues from you re this RV thing: Bring *very* little clothing……What’s in all those plastic bags in the fridge? Liran will be so excited to see these, thanks and just keep taking in that amazing view!!

    • The bags are full of fresh herbs :). With such little space to cook, I find were eating fresher and more raw. You already do that :). I think if you get the right RV, the storage will fit your needs!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • OOOOOOh! Yum!! I’m drooling just looking into your fridge……What size it by the way? 8 or 10 cf? (is that how you abbreviate cubic feet??) I need my math club…… πŸ™‚

      • Math club!!!! Miss you guys so much! Let me check on the size–it is nice and big!

        Sent from my iPhone

  10. honestly? i think you have better kitchen storage than most new york city apartments.

    still, overall, i’d say those are pretty tight quarters for 5 people plus a pooch! at least you have that view, right? enjoy it!

    • You new yorkers are a hardy bunch. This kitchen is going to drive me batty! But, the view is killer, so it makes up for a lot!

      Sent from my iPhone

  11. And away you go!!!

  12. ::drool::

    Positively roomy compared to our rig!

    • And that is why you’re a rock star, and my inspiration! RV chicks, unite ;). I hope you guys head down this way again, this time with us here!

      Sent from my iPhone

  13. hey, that is some thing. Here in India, only film stars own RVs.

    I am sure you will settle yourself comfortably within a matter of days .

    Good to see Fritto. Yesterday night I was wondering where she had gone. In the morning I clicked your site and lo here she was posing for the orientation.

    Can you access the net only thru your mobile or is it for the time being ?

    That beach view from your RV home is great !

    • Hey, I’m going to start pretending I’m a film star! :).

      How are you and your family?! How did the tests go? Is everything better now that they’re over? I miss you and writing my math blogs!

      Sent from my iPhone

  14. well…you’ll be out lots, yes? Lol! – talk about contrast between your house and your RV!
    But so worth it, with a view like that, and being able to take to the road.
    Jealous? Yes πŸ™‚

  15. Oh girl, that’s crazy small, but super nice. I think we’d all kill each other if it were us. But yes, lots of room to run outside would help. The bathroom thing would suck a bit. You at least let them use the shower!
    That’s a nice sized fridge for an RV and love all the fresh produce in there!!! Just keep thinking it’s an adventure. And that you get to move every week or so might be kind of fun!
    Have you filled up the storage on the outside of the RV? My hubby’s mom has one and I was surprised how many little storage compartments there are.
    Keep us posted. And thanks so much for sharing photos from the inside. I through my day imagining I’m you and wondering what I’d keep from each room if I moved into an RV. lol! I guess that’s much more exciting that my life right now!

    • good lord, plenty of typos in there. the neighbor’s dog woke me up at 5 am and I’m all out of sorts now!!

    • There are storage bins on the outside, but Im not able to put much in them–they’re so small! Instead I keep everything in the minivan. So we live in the RV but we live out of the minivan. It’s…..interesting. !!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  16. It’s perfect for your new adventure!

  17. Wow! That’s all I can say. How exciting, freeing, adventurous and character building for EVERYONE this experience is going to be. It is one memory that will last a lifetime. I am living vicariously through you right now. With all the stresses of my life…your adventure is becoming my desire. I would love to be FREE of all this extra stuff and pressure! Enjoy… btw…I miss the unschooly…but we are still learning posts.

    • You don’t have to live in an RV to simplify your life! Start giving away things you don’t need, you’ll feel less complicated :).

      I miss the ‘unschooly but still learning’ posts too. I hope to get more of those written when my new life stops kicking my butt, lol

      Sent from my iPhone

  18. Is there a little dining table? Most RV’s I’ve been in have that (that turns into a bed). I’m diggin’ the hard wood floors!

    • There are two little tables, but it makes it impossible for me to cook when they’re put in, so I leave them out.

      Sent from my iPhone

  19. Great blog!!! I found you through the Sara and Matt.

    I’m curious as to why you picked the RV you did. I’m still digging around reading your stuff so maybe I missed it but….just in case – I’ll give you a new blog post idea. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

