Jump for….anything!

You know the expression ‘jump for joy’? It’s become something of a motto for us here, except we replace the word ‘joy’ with just about anything. We just jump! What started this off was one ordinary day, when Golfer was 6, we were golfing together and he legitimately beat me. I’m not a fabulous golfer, but I’m not all that bad, and certainly wasn’t expecting to be beat by my little boy already. He was soooo happy, and I snapped a shot of him jumping on the course:

Jump for golf!

He went on to become the Jr. Golf state champion for the next two years and even took a couple trips to Pinehurst, NC, to participate in the US Kids Golf World Championship. And now you know why he’s ‘the Golfer’!

That jump started something going, and now we jump for just about anything.

pretty sunsets:

And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.  ~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche

pit stops on long trips (lol):

IMG_1608

cool places we love, like Griffith Observatory:

IMG_5340

climbing up 14,265 feet:

14,265 joy

the beach:

Beach Jump Shot

big libraries:

Jump for libraries

museums:

m3

unexpected cheery sunflower abundance on the side of a road:

Sunflower Joy

birthdays:

birthday boy

National Parks:

Jump for Old Faithful

and…and…well, I think you get the picture. There isn’t much we don’t jump for. Just yesterday, Sassy and I went on a special date to IKEA and she pointed out I should bring my camera and take pictures of her jumping around places in the store. She’s so thoughtful! lol. It makes for such dynamic, energetic, fun pictures for the family photo album. And most of my favorite pictures end up being jumpshots!

As many jumpshots as we have, however, we don’t even come close to the world record holder, Mike Hedge! His current record is 602 jumpshots, but that number is growing because he’s set out on a jumpshot roadtrip across the country, documenting it along the way by jumping everywhere he can. He’s already jumped around the world, and now he’s finishing strong in the USA. I love sharing trips like this with my kids (remember Matt dancing around the world?) because not only is it good for our geography knowlege, it’s also good for them to see non traditional people doing non traditional things. That way they don’t have to buy in to the idea that success in a public school is the only way to have a successful life….something that most of the mainstream public has no problem expressing to me and my kids daily.

Check out jumpingbook.com to find out where he’s going, where he’s been, and how you can help sponsor him in his goal. Right now, if you donate $11 or more dollars, he’ll send you a postcard from anywhere in the country…and I know how much you homeschoolers LOVE a good postcard exchange!

Mike Hedge

Jumping for Yosemite!

20 Responses

  1. Mike was just here visiting Sara. LOVE him!

    Really hoping to meet your clan some day. Keep our park on your radar.

    http://www.hillshadervpark.com

    We ooze unschooling-liciousness.

    • People who add ‘iciousness’ onto the end of random words automatically become my best friends! Bet you didn’t know that!

      I feel a trip through Texas in our future!

  2. way super neat!!!!

    Mike

  3. I love your jump shots. I recently found them on flickr. They make me happy. I’ll probably end up copying you some day πŸ™‚

  4. I always love your jumping shots!!! They really do add a whole new dynamic to photos!! Sure beats the whole “Standing there” shot!! ;D

    • exactly. If we’re going to stand for a shot we always manage to jump instead. it takes some more time and coordination, but looks cooler!

  5. Texas is definitely full of unschoolers and fun. Love the jumping shots!

  6. Dude! White girls CAN jump!!!

  7. Your post made me smile πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  8. Cool Cool Photos. I very much feel like jumping. But realised I haven’t done that for a while. Thanks for reminding πŸ™‚

    You really have a positive aura around you!

  9. I love all of those shots! And what a cool link — the boys will have to check that out tomorrow. It is pure jumpiciousness. ;D

  10. I LOVE this so much and started jumping right away!

  11. Yay! Jumpers of the world, unite πŸ™‚

  12. Look a the height you have in front of that big library! Look at Golfers awesome lotus pose jump! It seems that one becomes a very good jumper when you jump for anything. Love it!

  13. that picture of your son on the golf course looks JUST like where my in-laws live in Palm Desert — definitely not Pinehurst! Guess a lot of golf communities look the same :0)

Leave a Reply

