A Day In The Life.

This weekend, the weather has cooperated with my deep need for warmth and sun…something that it seems everyone in Southern California has enjoyed, judging from the crowds around Huntington Beach.

This morning I welcomed the sun with a barefoot jog on the beach. My calf muscles tell me to never do it again by refusing to work for a couple days after I do this to them. I tell them they’re weak and puny and have grown soft after 5 years of Colorado winters. They tell me to have some pity on them. I tell them to shape up, because we’ve got a half marathon to run in the Fall, and right now I can’t even make it 6 straight miles on a path. They cry, but I don’t let that stop me. Barefoot beach running is great conditioning!

IMG_2799

The older kids were back at Disneyland today, so Sassy, Hubby and I went to see “How To Train Your Dragon” in 3D. Sassy and I ended up waiting for Hubby to meet up with us. As you can see, waiting is not Sassy’s strong point:

IMG_2817

But we loved the movie so so so much. It’s one of my all time favorites. I laughed, I cried, yadda yadda yadda I’ll go see it again with the older kids in a heartbeat!

And then Sassy and I went to the girliest store ever, Bath and Body Works, where we stocked up on some lotion and sprays. Turns out, we both like to smell like fruit! Right now I smell like I soaked in a mango/citrus bath, and it’s making me thirsty for orange juice! I’m finding that I need that stuff, living in the RV, where we don’t shower as often as usual and the sand/salt/sun combo dries our skin out quickly.

IMG_2819

My day ended where it began–on the beach. A drum circle was playing, and people flocked to the edge of the water to watch the sun set on the horizon. All’s well that ends well here in Huntington!

Backyard.

3 Responses

  1. Sounds like a perfect day! We saw the movie on Friday and loved it! My guy leaned over and whispered in my ear that “Hiccup thought differently too” and I think I heard a bit of pride in his voice. What a great movie for anybody but especially for our 2e kids. Sassy looks like she felt better today. Bored beats puke-y any day :-).

  2. Beach runnning… love that! Those calves will be happy again one of these days!
    Half marathon! Good stuff!
    Always love your So. Cal beach pics! A taste of home!

  3. Oh, beach is good for legs walking or running. And good for smooth feet. 🙂

    We can’t wait to see the movie – the boys read the book recently, which is NOTHING like the movie I’ve heard, but we want to wait to avoid the spring break insane crowds. Nice to hear it is good.

    I love the smell of that stuff but it gives me horrible migraines and hives, so no B, B & B for us. Those are some colorful containers!

Leave a Reply

