A Mermaid, A Treasure, and A Choice…a story about not turning the other cheek.

My ex-Brother In Law is visiting Cali. on his 4 kids’ spring break. My kids consider their cousins more like brothers and sisters, and they’ve missed them since we’ve moved away!

He is endlessly fascinated with Sassy, because you can never tell what she’ll say next. And even though she looks delicate and sweet…(exhibit A)

IMG_6297

…her personality is something altogether different. When asked what sea animal she wants to be, she skips over the more socially and gender accepted answer of “dolphin” or “sea star!” or “baby sea lion!” in order to secure the rights to become a megalodon so she can eat everything else in the ocean. She is all about totally domination.

Knowing this, but wondering how far she’d take it, my exBIL set up a scenario. “Sassy.” he said, “lets say you’re on a beach. And you see a giant treasure chest full of gold! And you run over to get it, but then a beautiful mermaid with long blonde hair appears and tells you not to touch it because it’s hers. What do you do?”

Sassy paused before answering. “Well…” … then she continued … “I’d punch her in the face and then take the treasure. I want the gold!”
***************

So there you have it. On this day of Easter cheer and goodwill, my daughter is willing to punch a beautiful mermaid in the face to get herself some loot. What next, the Easter Bunny? It’s the big easter egg hunt, I better go on high alert for face punching over candy or other treats. Has she ever actually done violence to another person (besides Golfer)? No. But she sure can talk the talk!

9 Responses

  1. lol, and she looks so sweet 🙂

    • I know…all in pink…sometimes I underestimate her because of all the pastels she likes to wear, lol

  2. Lol. Yep, it’s always the sweet looking ones ya gotta look out for :-). Brains, beauty and brawn – what an awesome combo.

  3. A wise woman once said, “People who threaten to punch other people in the face also become my instant best friend!”

    Therefore, I find the above scenario pure genius.

  4. Hilarious!

  5. Oh yeah, I’m laughing my butt off right now. My daughter would definitely punch a mermaid in the face, but probably not for the gold. Fairy dust, /that/ she would punch a mermaid for, or candy.

    I keep reminding myself that assertiveness and independence are exactly the traits we will love when they are grown up. Right now though, oh boy.

    • totally. Independence and assertiveness makes for some difficulties in the younger years, but I keep telling myself it will be worth the extra work when she gets older.

Leave a Reply

