Our Unschooling Life in Video.

The interest is still high over what exactly us freaky unschoolers are doing all day, thanks to the heightened media coverage the past week.

There’s not much I can say about the way it’s being portrayed on TV, but lots of us unschoolers are writing about our lives and what unschooling is to us and our kids in an effort to put another view of it into the public domain. There’s a great recap of blogs about unschooling, specifically in light of the GMA flap, over at Blog of the Zombie Princess.

Here’s a quick video of our unschooling year in 2008. Note that I titled it “Our HOMEschooling Life”–because back then I wasn’t out of the closet yet. I told everyone we were homeschooling because it was easier than trying to explain or defend unschooling. But here I am, 2 years later, flying my freak flag high over unschooling. It’s been brilliant for our family and my kids.

Our 2008 unschooling recap!

Places shown:
Devils Tower, Wy.
Mt. Rushmore, SD
Durango, Co.
Ft. Laramie, Wy.
the library
the zoo
Rocky Mountain National Park, Co.
Four Corners, Az., NM., UT., Co.
Great Sand Dunes National Park, Co.
Arches National Park, Ut.
Mesa Verde National Park, Co.
and…our backyard.

*****************
Tonight I’m ditching the packing/cleaning of the weight around my neck otherwise known as my house, and going out with one of the best girlfriends ever. On a scale of 1-10 for sheer awesomeness, she’s a 20. And if she plays her cards right, we may end up with matching new tattoos before I leave…my first one ever!

Photo on 2010-04-22 at 18

16 Responses

  1. SWEET!!! What tattoo are you getting!?!??!?

  2. PS….. what an AWESOME video !!! LOVE it!! Perfect music too! Fly that freak flag HIGH woman!! ;D

  3. LOVE the video! Looks like a great year to me.

  4. i love that i get to learn about unschooling from you…you’ve totally opened my eyes to the alternatives that are available and i’ve thought a lot about our conversation on the beach a couple weeks ago.

    your new short do looks great, yay for besties and yay, yay, YAY for first time tattoos!! watch out lady, they are addictive…

    • I can’t wait to show you mine, now 🙂

      I’m so excited to have more beach conversations soon!

  5. What a great recap of your year. Now you have me thinking of making a little slide show.
    I think it is great you are getting the word out. Thanks for the link to unschooling blogs too!

  6. oh Tiff, I just have to say that your kids are incredibly lucky to have a mom like you. I’ve never heard of unschooling until i “met” you on flickr, but it really makes me want to consider it when we have kids. Your kids are so happy and and they get to enjoy learning, just how they should. I grew up hating school and not getting very good grades (and i was a horrible test taker), but i think if i were unschooled i would have learned A LOT more. Thanks for opening my eyes and for sharing your story. 🙂

    Tina

    • the most surprising effect of unschooling my kids has been ‘reschooling’ myself, for many of the same reasons you mentioned! You can start unschooling even before you have kids…just choose an interest and follow it!

  7. Excellent–I love your slideshow!!! Ooooh-a flickr group where everyone posts a slideshow of what unschooling looks like at their family!
    Tattoo????!!

  8. That is beautiful! Thank you for sharing your journey.

    I totally relate to the bit about still being in the “unschool closet” and calling yourselves homeschoolers because it was just easier at the time.

    You inspire me to just chuck the pretenses and proudly wave our own “freak flag”. I’m getting there.

  9. all of the things in the video/places visited can be done, and still also do more traditional schooling. i don’t know what most families do. but that is just normal family activities to me, unconnected to ‘school’

    • I pretty much guarantee that the most learning your kids will ever do are in those moments you call ‘unrelated’ to school or learning.

      When i was in 4th grade my family took me out of school so we could travel across the country for a month. I don’t remember anything about what I learned the rest of the school year, but I do remember all the places I visited and things I learned about the US while travelling.

      When my daughter was in school, I always ran out of allotted ‘missing school’ days but still had more trips planned that had to wait for vacations or the next school year. We could never have taken that many trips or days off school to do everything we did in that 2008 video!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • I totally agree with you Tiff, i can hardly remember anything i learned in ‘school’ and felt like i always learned more going on hikes with my family or camping or road trips or going to museums…getting out of the classroom is the best thing you can probably do for your kids. 🙂

Leave a Reply

