Colorado Sunset

God writes the gospel not in the Bible alone, but on trees and flowers and clouds and stars. ~Martin Luther

When you look outside at 6:15 in the evening, and see this:

Then you know nature has something special in store for the rest of the sunset.

I thank you God for this most amazing day, for the leaping greenly spirits of trees, and for the blue dream of sky and for everything which is natural, which is infinite, which is yes. ~e.e. cummings


So you sit yourself down out on the porch, and watch in wonder as the colors change from yellow to red.

If the sight of the blue skies fills you with joy, if a blade of grass springing up in the fields has power to move you, if the simple things of nature have a message that you understand, rejoice, for your soul is alive. ~Eleonora Duse


In New Jersey, when I first saw paintings by Thomas Edwin Church, I didn’t know sunsets like this existed. I thought maybe he was using poetic license to exagerate or paint a hyperbole of a western sunset. Little did I know that, if anything, he painted them subdued.

Standing on the back porch, I believe I feel what Wallace Stegner called “God finding in the Rockies” and these particular mountains the “native home of hope”. It certainly felt like it as this sunset was happening!

I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in. ~John Muir

4 Responses

  1. I am so very homesick for those sunsets. {sigh}

  2. It’s so beautiful. *sigh* I haven’t seen a sunset like that in forever. 🙂

  3. I don’t want to be a copycat but there’s nothing else for it…(sigh). Gorgeous. Thanks for sharing.

  4. That first quote by Martin Luther has long been one of my faves. Beautiful pics.

Leave a comment